Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2006, 12:03 AM
cook90 cook90 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lake norman, nc
Posts: 3
Exmark w/ Kohler CV15 won't start, please help

I purchased a used Exmark Metro 36" (2003 model) in February 2006. It has a Kohler Command 15hp engine, pull start. The local Exmark dealer gave it a complete annual inspection (new gas, carb cleaning, new fuel lines, air/oil filters changed, etc.) and said it was in great condition. Even though I found this mower difficult to start, it ran fine all summer. Well, on Oct 1st, while mowing, the mower ran out of fuel. I refilled the tank and was unable to get the mower restarted. The fuel filter, which had previously been perfectly clean, had debris in it so I thought maybe I'd gummed up the fuel system. I replaced the fuel, fuel filter, checked fuel lines, checked float system in the carb. Engine still wouldn't start. I tried starter fluid in the carb--no start. Replaced spark plug. Still no start.

Fuel is getting through to the spark plug so I think I have an ignition problem. I bypassed (jumped) the PTO and OPC safety switches and it still won't start. Now things get strange. One individual I spoke with suggested that the ignition coil might be the culprit. So before I dive into investigating the "magnets on the flywheel" I decide to check the spark plug one more time. I remove and replace the plug. The engine starts like a champ. I mow with it for two days and it works great. However, now it won't start again. Back to square one. Any ideas?

I'm just a homeowner, not too technical. Could someone explain to me the numerous safety devices on this mower (Transmission, PTO switch, OPC switch, Engine Kill Terminal). Are the safeties to blame? Is it the Ignition Coil? How do I check these items? Could the gap on the plug be wrong? How important is the correct torque on the plug? Please help. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2006, 09:12 AM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,530
First of all, On the side of the engine is a harness connector, Unplug this connector and remove the white wire then plug the connector back up.
Doing this is eliminating ALL safety and kill switches in the system, Then check for spark. If you have spark each switch will need to be checked with a multimeter to locate the bad one.

If you still have no spark with the white wire disconnected I would venture to say the coil is bad or possibly the white wire to the coil is shorted.
You can further test the coil as listed below.

Spark plug torque is not critical and the gap is .040".
Attached Images
 
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2006, 08:48 PM
cook90 cook90 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lake norman, nc
Posts: 3
Thanks Restrobob for the information. The sparkplug was firing normally with the white wire unattached. However, before checking the continuity of each individual safety wire, I decided to recheck the choke butterfly valve. (I read about this on a different thread.) Sure enough the valve was not fully closing in the choke position. I wedged a pair of pliers in the linkage leading to the valve to fully close the valve and when I pulled the starter cable she fired right up. Did the same thing again today and the mower started again. Hopefully, the problem is solved.

This leads to my next question-- what's the best way to adjust the choke linkage to ensure full closure of the choke butterfly valve?

Thanks for the troubleshooting tips! Your assistance is invaluable.
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2006, 12:34 AM
khouse khouse is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: lee's summit, mo
Posts: 1,479
usually just loosening the cable mount at the engine and push or pull the cable assembly and there you have it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2006, 12:02 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,530
As khouse mentioned is one way if you have separate throttle and choke controls, If they are integrated to one cable there is a adjustment screw on the control plate to adjust the choke setting.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...

"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2006, 08:07 PM
cook90 cook90 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lake norman, nc
Posts: 3
Thanks for the help!!
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:32 AM
khutch khutch is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 495
Restrorob Rocks!
__________________
2004 Tacoma 4 x 4
52" Exmark TT HP w/ProSlide
36" Exmark TT HP w/ProSlide
Accelerator Baggers
Toro 21"
Honda 21"
Sthil 110 4-Mix String Trimmer
Sthil 420 BP Blower
Echo 755 Blower
Sthil HS-81 Hedge Trimmer
Spyker Spreader
Plugr PL 800 WB Aerator
Lawn Soultions WB Aerator

Echo BP Sprayers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.

Page generated in 0.09101 seconds with 10 queries