Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2008, 05:48 PM
instyle instyle is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 381
Cutting off sod to lay new sod???

After a bunch of reading on this site i hear about cutting the sod off then laying new sod. Is this really all you guys do?

When a coustomers calls us saying he wants a new front lawn, we will go in with a bobcat and dump truck, dig out 4-5 inches of soil and bring in fresh top soil, level it then lay new sod.

Are we doing it the hard way? Araound here the only person to own a sod cutter is a rental shop.
__________________
some of these and some of those.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2008, 07:33 PM
BrandonV's Avatar
BrandonV BrandonV is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 3,663
if the existing soil is good I don't see why you'd need to haul it off, I've done a few just come in scrape off the old turf, rip, till and sod/seed. if you need soil do it, but most soil (around here at least) just needs a shot of lime and some p&k
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2008, 08:18 PM
instyle instyle is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 381
So, do you test the soil before to find out if it needs lime? Or do you just automaticly apply lime?
__________________
some of these and some of those.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2008, 08:20 PM
instyle instyle is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 381
what is p&k, are you talking about fertilizer?
__________________
some of these and some of those.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2008, 06:42 AM
BrandonV's Avatar
BrandonV BrandonV is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 3,663
around here the soil is automatically acid, and yeah n-P-K
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2008, 09:01 PM
sicnj's Avatar
sicnj sicnj is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: S. Seaville NJ
Posts: 259
i used a harley rake todaay. wow does it do a great job im so happy with the performance.
__________________
Romans 8:28
"And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:09 AM
EA Quinn EA Quinn is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Posts: 364
we do it both ways. Usually the lawns we re-do are in need of it bad. We scrape the top layer soil and all off, add new soil and install hydroseed or sod.
__________________
-EA Quinn Landscape Contracting
www.EaQuinn.com
matt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.

Page generated in 0.08428 seconds with 9 queries