Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2009, 03:32 PM
duffman301 duffman301 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany ny
Posts: 20
Another Scag Tiger Cub Problem

I posted yesterday about my tiger cub not starting and i got a lot of advice that was very good. I got the mower running today and decided to change the Hydrolic and filter. I went to the scag dealer and they gave me 2 quarts of 20w50. I emptied the fluid, changed the filter and added the 2 quarts into the resivior. I fired the mower up and it doesnt move. I looked at the manual when i got home and saw that it said the hydo fluid should be 3 inches from the top. My question is #1 -does anyone know how much hydro fluid a tiger cub takes? #2 even if it is low on fluid shouldnt it work a little? The mower was moving fine before i decided to change the fluid. I am sure this is something simple. However, my shop is 30 min from my house and i know i am going to be thinking about this all night so if anyone has any ideas please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:38 PM
jkingrph's Avatar
jkingrph jkingrph is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jacksonville, Tx, W Monroe,La.
Posts: 802
Check your manual. I think they also have an on line manual available. On my Wildcat when I changed , had to sit and move leavers back and forth for a few minutes before fluid reached pumps and or motors and the mower could move. You can also jack up rear wheels and move levers to set into motion. and prime system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:53 PM
duffman301 duffman301 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany ny
Posts: 20
the manual says to run at idle speed w/ control levers at the nuetral position for 5 min. I didnt do that, maybe that is my problem. I just ran it for a 30 seconds and then got scared that maybe some how i was doing damage to the mower. The last thing i need is to blow a hydo pump because of some stupid mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:07 PM
Mike Blevins Mike Blevins is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BRISTOL, VIRGINIA
Posts: 1,341
Scag "problems"

Yes your Scag does have problems, You! LOL. Exact reason I let my dealer change the hydro fluid and peform the maintenance on my Scag. That way it doesn't have any "problems" that i can create.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:12 PM
ALC-GregH's Avatar
ALC-GregH ALC-GregH is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 7,053
That 5 minutes is to bleed the air out of the system. If you don't run it long enough, it won't bleed the air out. Did you start it back up and let it run?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:15 PM
duffman301 duffman301 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany ny
Posts: 20
I made the mistake of taking it to the dealer once. They had it for 6 working days and charged me $600 for a head gasket leak. I got the mower back from them and the sump seal was leaking. They wanted another $350 to fix that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:18 PM
duffman301 duffman301 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany ny
Posts: 20
ALC-GregH

I am going to do that first thing in the morning. I just ran it for 30 seconds and when it wasnt working i decided to not take any chances. I figured it was an air in the system issue, i just wasnt sure if there was a bleeder valve someplace. So it sound like i should just be able to run it for five minutes and it will work fine?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:21 PM
ALC-GregH's Avatar
ALC-GregH ALC-GregH is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 7,053
That's my take. The system is very similar to a power steering system on a car. Matter of fact it's really the same thing only applied to a mower. Why not go out and start it up now? The pump and motors will have oil in them enough to not cause damage.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:30 PM
djagusch djagusch is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 3,478
Normally when I change the fluid I also fill the filter with oil before installing it to reduce air in the system. After you run it for the 5 minutes make sure to check the oil level again. Also if you didn't fill the filter up you'll probably have little air bubbles in the oil. It would be best to let it sit overnight again (for the little bubbles to work out) before running it hard.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:36 PM
duffman301 duffman301 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany ny
Posts: 20
ALC-GregH

My mower is in my shop that is about 30 min from my house. I am going to give it a try tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cub , hydro , hydrolic , scag

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 PM.

Page generated in 0.09433 seconds with 9 queries