Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-01-2009, 07:02 PM
ALC-GregH's Avatar
ALC-GregH ALC-GregH is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 7,053
I see. I keep everything at home in my garage/shop.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2009, 08:17 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 11,850
By the way you need to jack it up and run the unit...meaning you have to activate the pumps so sit on seat and run both forward and reverse.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-01-2009, 10:45 PM
puppypaws's Avatar
puppypaws puppypaws is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marshville,NC 28103
Posts: 7,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed2hess View Post
By the way you need to jack it up and run the unit...meaning you have to activate the pumps so sit on seat and run both forward and reverse.

This is correct, the Tiger Cub hydraulic reservoir with filter holds 2 1/2 qts. Raise the back of the mower high enough off the ground for the wheels to clear, sit on the mower and move the steering levers forward enough for the wheels to turn and it will bleed the air out of your system. You have no problem believe me, but you will need more oil. Scag says you can let it run idle for 5 min. and the air will work itself out but it is faster for the wheels to turn.
__________________
Farm Mower

Last edited by puppypaws; 04-01-2009 at 10:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-01-2009, 10:55 PM
pfisdon's Avatar
pfisdon pfisdon is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 31
Why would you change the hydro oil anyway? All you need to do is change the filter once a season and top off the oil lost due to removing the filter. Up to the hole inside the metal sleeve inside the neck of the hydro tank.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:02 PM
ALC-GregH's Avatar
ALC-GregH ALC-GregH is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 7,053
Do you just change the filter on your truck and leave the dirty oil in it? I didn't think so. The hydro oil gets dirty too. Why do you think it uses a filter?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:09 PM
puppypaws's Avatar
puppypaws puppypaws is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marshville,NC 28103
Posts: 7,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALC-GregH View Post
Do you just change the filter on your truck and leave the dirty oil in it? I didn't think so. The hydro oil gets dirty too. Why do you think it uses a filter?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfisdon View Post
Why would you change the hydro oil anyway? All you need to do is change the filter once a season and top off the oil lost due to removing the filter. Up to the hole inside the metal sleeve inside the neck of the hydro tank.
April Fool!
__________________
Farm Mower
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-02-2009, 05:33 PM
duffman301 duffman301 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany ny
Posts: 20
Thanks everyone. I just ran it for a few minutes and everything was fine
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-03-2009, 08:34 PM
Mike Blevins Mike Blevins is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BRISTOL, VIRGINIA
Posts: 1,338
Dealer???

Quote:
Originally Posted by duffman301 View Post
I made the mistake of taking it to the dealer once. They had it for 6 working days and charged me $600 for a head gasket leak. I got the mower back from them and the sump seal was leaking. They wanted another $350 to fix that.
Thats not a dealer !! Thats a rapists!!!! Makes me thankful for my dealer. He has the best Kool-Aid making machine I have ever seen.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-03-2009, 10:46 PM
ALC-GregH's Avatar
ALC-GregH ALC-GregH is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 7,053
ummm, Kool-Aid.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-04-2009, 12:08 AM
pfisdon's Avatar
pfisdon pfisdon is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 31
The oil in a hydro unit is a closed environment , it does not suck in air and dust like the engine does. Unless you are putting your pumps to extreme conditions like steep hills , high temperatures or general hard abuse ,the hydro oil does not need to be changed as often. Unless you just like to waste good oil and money for no reason.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cub , hydro , hydrolic , scag

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Page generated in 0.09547 seconds with 9 queries