Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



 
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2002, 05:42 PM
Dennis E. Dennis E. is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mulberry,Fl.
Posts: 349
Breakers?

Thru some crafty horse trading I now have a decent stick welder to do repairs.
220V
My Step-Dad,who has been in construction his entire life,will do the hook-up at the box.
He's unsure what size amp to use for the breakers.
The max output,I believe,is 230 on the welder. For fill work.
Don't know if I'll ever need that but that's what it says on the unit.
Any advice.
Same as a dryer or other 220V?
Thanks.
  #2  
Old 11-01-2002, 06:38 PM
naturecoast naturecoast is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: central florida
Posts: 14
Look on the welder for a nameplate.This should tell you the volts,amps etc.. If you can't find one the cord should have a molded plug on the end if it hasn't been changed. match this plug to the proper receptical.The receptical should have what's called the N.EM.A. configuration on it. Your is likely 6-50R, 6 means 250Volt 2 pole 3wire grounding,50 is amps,R receptical.This means for a 6-50R you would need a 2 pole 50amp breaker, 2 #6 wires for the feed and #10 for ground in 3/4'' conduit or 6-2 romex or other manfacterd cable. Hope this helps.
  #3  
Old 11-01-2002, 07:11 PM
Dennis E. Dennis E. is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mulberry,Fl.
Posts: 349
Central Fl. huh?

You can't be too far away.
The rig was used on a truck. AC/DC job.
It then went back into a shop setting. There is now a three prong plug in on it. (Dryer type.)
I'll print your info. for my father to look at.
Thanks.
(BTW... no plate on the unit to refer to.)
  #4  
Old 11-01-2002, 09:18 PM
naturecoast naturecoast is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: central florida
Posts: 14
I'm in the bushnell area.If someone put a dryer cord on it then it might work on a 2 pole 30amp circuit .If it dosen't then you will put in a larger circuit. Don't try to put a 40 or 50 amp breaker on 30amp #10 wire it is a fire hazard.If it was on a truck it was either a motor driven unit or they used a generator.If it was motor driven there is no telling what was done to convert it.I will be talking to some profesional welders tomorrow.I will ask thier opinion. good luck
  #5  
Old 11-02-2002, 12:16 PM
naturecoast naturecoast is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: central florida
Posts: 14
I went to a site today where they were welding together some chimp cages.They had three Buzz Boxes going.I asked them what size circuit would be best for the typical buzz box.They agreed on 50 amps,One of them was running off a generator at 30 amps and would trip under heavy load. The 6-50R would be your best bet. btw..the nameplate should be on the front of the box near the duty cycle ratings.It should have primary & secondary amps,volts etc. the primary is the circuit required to run your welder. Have Fun , Eric G.
  #6  
Old 11-02-2002, 01:42 PM
Dennis E. Dennis E. is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mulberry,Fl.
Posts: 349
Muchly appreciated....

Thanks for asking for me.
The 50 amp seems to be what should be used. I asked at another forum and the reply was the same.
It won't be used much except for some tacking and light repairs on the mowers and the trailer.
Thanks again!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.

Page generated in 0.07761 seconds with 9 queries