Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2010, 07:22 PM
silverado212's Avatar
silverado212 silverado212 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 373
Domain Transferring

Has anyone transferred their Domain Name? I have a website, but thinking of taking it elsewhere for a more professional look. Would need to change registrar. How hard and what does it involve?
__________________
The human body has two ends; one you create with and one you sit on. Sometimes people get them reversed and thats when they need a good kick in the seat of their pants. - Theodore Roosevelt

http://www.razorsedgelawn.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2010, 09:49 AM
alternative's Avatar
alternative alternative is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: St Clair Shores
Posts: 467
ITs simple actually.. Go here and use alternative as the promo code (if asked) and it will give you Free Domain transfer and more. Great site and Tons of free stuff. They make it seamless and simple.
Check it out...

http://www.dreamhost.com/r.cgi?626698
__________________
Alternative Landscaping, Inc
St Clair Shores
(586)774-7777

Last edited by alternative; 02-23-2010 at 09:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2010, 07:44 PM
PR Fect's Avatar
PR Fect PR Fect is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,047
We transferred our domain name form Go Daddy to Homestead (Intuit). Had to jump threw a few hoops but in the end It was not real hard. I would think it depends on who you host with. They all have their rules. PR
__________________
PR Meyer, PR-Fect Lawn Services LLC

http://www.pr-fectlawn.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2010, 05:52 AM
Turboguy Turboguy is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Beaver Falls PA
Posts: 1,637
Why do you need to change the registar? Domain Registration and Domain hosting are two seperate and independent things. You can just repoint your domain with whatever registrar you are using.

If you want to change that is fine and it is easier than it used to be but if you are changing just because of hosting it is your choice if you wish to or now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2010, 12:33 AM
Jb3NH's Avatar
Jb3NH Jb3NH is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 197
its not hard at all. can i plug hostgator again?
__________________
www.JBCoLandscape.com
Landscape Maintenance Service, Landscape Installation, Plow Service, Snow and Ice Management, Snow Removal, Commerical & Residential Greenland NH, Portsmouth NH, Stratham NH 03840
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ErcXaty4Ync
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvyMbaWC-sI
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 PM.

Page generated in 0.07132 seconds with 9 queries