Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2003, 04:57 PM
Jon99 Jon99 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 375
Question about a checking account...

This is my first year mowing, I set up a checking account at the local bank under the business name...Is there something special I need to do so I can cash checks made out to the business???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2003, 04:58 PM
tiedeman's Avatar
tiedeman tiedeman is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: earth
Posts: 8,753
you need a DBA to set up your business checking to accept checks
__________________
I use Gopher Billing & Scheduling Software
Download your FREE fully functional 30-day trial here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2003, 05:20 PM
ksland's Avatar
ksland ksland is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 928
You cannot "cash" a check made out to the business. It must be deposited into a business account, then withdrawn on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2003, 05:26 PM
Bob Minney's Avatar
Bob Minney Bob Minney is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Hottest driest city next to Hades - Denver Colorado
Posts: 1,094
Here we file a trade name affidavit, $6 per year- same as dba. Only checks I ever cash is the ones that bounce 2X- and those go to the writers bank, never any trouble if the money was there.
I don't think I ever have tried to cash a check made out to my business-just deposit them all.
__________________
If you want people to notice your faults, start giving advice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2003, 05:55 PM
Jon99 Jon99 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 375
Thanks everyone... I guess when I say cash, I actually mean deposit .. The account is set up as a DBA, but will contact the bank to verify...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2003, 06:42 PM
rkbrown's Avatar
rkbrown rkbrown is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 533
Jon99:

I, too went to the courthouse and filed for a DBA. When I recieved it back in the mail, I went and opened up my account. They had to have the DBA in order to open the account. My DBA is setup as a general partnership with my wife as the partner. Even though Texas is a community property state, I had to do this in order for my wife to have access to this account.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 PM.

Page generated in 0.07321 seconds with 9 queries