Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:28 PM
Southern Pride's Avatar
Southern Pride Southern Pride is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,382
The throttle sticking is just probably due to it being plastic like on any blower. i would definitely try the antifreeze thing.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-06-2011, 08:48 PM
buck1974 buck1974 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: smiths, alabama
Posts: 4
I just got my echo 770 in today from Wise sales, I read the manual and it states that 2 full tanks of fuel for the break in period. Once that is done then the carb can be adjusted, but only by a certified technician. Is the blower set where its not a its full capacity for EPA reasons and their standards. Was it set so they can pass those test, should I leave mine the way it is without the adjustments to the carb?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-06-2011, 09:08 PM
Turf Dawg's Avatar
Turf Dawg Turf Dawg is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gainesville Texas
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by buck1974 View Post
I just got my echo 770 in today from Wise sales, I read the manual and it states that 2 full tanks of fuel for the break in period. Once that is done then the carb can be adjusted, but only by a certified technician. Is the blower set where its not a its full capacity for EPA reasons and their standards. Was it set so they can pass those test, should I leave mine the way it is without the adjustments to the carb?
I have never had mine adjusted and I do not want to, it runs so good I'm afraid it might mess something up. I did however remove the exhaust restriction plate after several tanks of fuel.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-06-2011, 09:36 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 10,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by buck1974 View Post
I just got my echo 770 in today from Wise sales, I read the manual and it states that 2 full tanks of fuel for the break in period. Once that is done then the carb can be adjusted, but only by a certified technician. Is the blower set where its not a its full capacity for EPA reasons and their standards. Was it set so they can pass those test, should I leave mine the way it is without the adjustments to the carb?
The adjustment is very very necessary to keep these units running as they wear in over years. Just make sure that if there is a plastic plug over the needle that they take it out and buy one of the special screw drivers from Echo so you can adjust it.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-06-2011, 10:31 PM
Alan0354's Avatar
Alan0354 Alan0354 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 4,458
If it starts good, don't need warmup, why adjust it. I would check the plug to make sure it is not over heat or foul. If everything looks good, I would leave it alone. What make you think they can adjust any better.

This is call sticking worm into your behind........!!!! Not comfortable being too comfortable!!!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-27-2011, 12:38 AM
johnhammonds johnhammonds is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NE Alabama
Posts: 1
I'm ready to give the 770T a whirl if I can find a near by dealer that will come off MSRP some.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-27-2011, 03:52 AM
Alan0354's Avatar
Alan0354 Alan0354 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 4,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnhammonds View Post
I'm ready to give the 770T a whirl if I can find a near by dealer that will come off MSRP some.
Ask!!! all they can say is no.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-27-2011, 05:55 AM
joed joed is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by buck1974 View Post
I just got my echo 770 in today from Wise sales, I read the manual and it states that 2 full tanks of fuel for the break in period. Once that is done then the carb can be adjusted, but only by a certified technician. Is the blower set where its not a its full capacity for EPA reasons and their standards. Was it set so they can pass those test, should I leave mine the way it is without the adjustments to the carb?
I bought an Echo PB770 last year. It took about 15-20 hours of use before it was fully broken in. At first, it sucked up a lot of fuel but once it hit the 15-20 hour mark, the power went up and fuel economy went from average to very good. Very impressive blower in leaves too. Definitely one of the best things Echo has made.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:31 PM
Southern Pride's Avatar
Southern Pride Southern Pride is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,382
I also haven't had my 770 "adjusted" for any reason and I don't have a reason to now. I could understand for you northern guys but as long as it cranks first pull, I'm fine.
__________________
Chevy/eXmark/Toro/Echo/Redmax
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-28-2011, 08:02 PM
freshcut419's Avatar
freshcut419 freshcut419 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lambertville Michigan
Posts: 155
I just bought the echo 770t for $450.00 from Home Depot, it was a special order. Shoild be here in 3 days. I got the meet and beat price of 10% off $499.No shipping either.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Page generated in 0.12476 seconds with 10 queries