Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:18 PM
bighornjd's Avatar
bighornjd bighornjd is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delta, PA
Posts: 215
I hate any self-leveling bucket I have ever ran with a passion. They are designed for people who can't handle doing more than one thing at a time and in that case shouldn't be operating the machine to begin with. JMO. HATE them. Seems they are becoming standard equipment nowadays though.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:34 PM
YellowDogSVC's Avatar
YellowDogSVC YellowDogSVC is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 3,545
self leveling can be annoying. I use float every day from mulching going backwards to grapple/raking going backwards
__________________

"Life is tough, but it's tougher if you're stupid."

Twitter @Cedar_Clearing
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:46 PM
Scag48's Avatar
Scag48 Scag48 is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 6,061
Bucket level is a severe waste of time and I hardly ever use float.
__________________

Go hard, go fast, or go home
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-01-2011, 12:21 PM
ksss's Avatar
ksss ksss is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rigby, Idaho
Posts: 6,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scag48 View Post
Bucket level is a severe waste of time and I hardly ever use float.


AGREED.


As far as bucket leveling, some are mechanical like the 1845C the linkage just does it automatically. Others meter the hyd. fluid to the tilt curcuit as you lift when activated.

On CASE machines it is an expensive option. Once I ordered it (long time ago, not even sure what machine it was maybe an 85XT) never got it again. I don't find much use for float. Used it on occasion but never to any great degree.
__________________
See us at www.kaiserskidsteer.com

Proudly running CASE and Takeuchi equipment.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-01-2011, 01:31 PM
grassmanvt grassmanvt is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Central Vermont
Posts: 906
I get by fine without self level but have never had it interfere. I do like it for the occasional fill in operator who can't seem to understand as you lift a bucket and don't level, you put piles of mulch or snow on the roof of the skid steer, or in the case of a b-hoe, break an expensive hood with snow chunks. Float I don't often use in a skid but its very useful on tractors, loaders etc. especially when back dragging an area.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-05-2011, 08:00 AM
allinearth allinearth is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 600
I think its what ur used to. I hate self level. Ones I have used didn't level the way I like. I encourage my guys not to use it. Just get used to leveling urself.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-06-2011, 02:01 PM
ProTouch Groundscapes's Avatar
ProTouch Groundscapes ProTouch Groundscapes is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: OH
Posts: 2,125
i use float all the time when snowblowing with my rc100, was a pain the ass before i realized i had it...

float is also useful for grading loose material, can help alot of novice operators avoid washboarding until they become more proficient.

dont have self leveling on the rc i just learned to do it automatically now.
__________________
ProTouch Groundscapes LLC.
"Creativity Inspired By The World We Live In."
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-06-2011, 06:05 PM
crete crete is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: WI. Dells WI.
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTouch Groundscapes View Post
i use float all the time when snowblowing with my rc100, was a pain the ass before i realized i had it...

float is also useful for grading loose material, can help alot of novice operators avoid washboarding until they become more proficient.

dont have self leveling on the rc i just learned to do it automatically now.
Doesn't your RC100 have the two speed? Do you use it for plowing? Or around dirt work? Terry
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-07-2011, 12:18 PM
ProTouch Groundscapes's Avatar
ProTouch Groundscapes ProTouch Groundscapes is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: OH
Posts: 2,125
yes it has 2 speed, i use it plowing and when i want to get pretty much anywhere quicker than in 1st gear/speed.

technically the machine doesnt plow but runs an 85" hi flow snow blower. but i use 2 speed to get around the HOA faster and can drift around the corners.
__________________
ProTouch Groundscapes LLC.
"Creativity Inspired By The World We Live In."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 AM.

Page generated in 0.09090 seconds with 9 queries