Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-26-2011, 06:41 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,703
I've upsized a notch or two on an old Hunter SRC, but only up to 1-1/4 amps from the original 3/4 amp normal-blow fuse (the triacs in the SRC are rated for 4 amps)

So, what clamparound meters are popular for 2-wire use? It looks like one with a bottom range less than 10 amps, having a 4-digit display, will read out to 0.001 amps. Is that good enough?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-26-2011, 06:50 PM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,701
This reminded me of a trick i learned. If you have a situation where you need to blow a bunch of fuses troubleshooting assuming you can get your hands on an old richdel r4-12 then remove the reset fuse it has, add a little wire and alligator clips, remove the fuse and alligator clip across the fuse holders with the reset fuse.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-26-2011, 07:08 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 7,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
Are saying they provide an actual number for current?
depending on the model boots, you get a readout of numbers or led/digital strength. the RD, vivamax, metrotech and others have current direction capabilities. basically the path is located by the strongest signal, helps in congested areas.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-26-2011, 08:00 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,703
I'm still not seeing why I am concerned with the value of any current when I am tracking a wire.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-27-2011, 10:05 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,849
This clamp meter is designed to use on two-wire systems and is actually pretty inexpensive as far as high resolution clamp meters go.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-27-2011, 10:31 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,703
I see there is a family of clamparound meters called "leakage meters" with micro-amp capabilities, but they live in a pricey neighborhood.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-27-2011, 10:39 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,849
Pro 92 is around 200 bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-27-2011, 10:54 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,703
the "big boys" like Fluke seem to think $500 is too low for a "leakage meter" ~ I see on ebay, there are cheesy-looking imports, and a few more-intriguing discontinued brand-name clamparounds.

Just how low are two-wire current readings going to be? Anything below the milliamp range?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-27-2011, 11:40 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,849
Nominal standby current on a Tucor LD-050 single station decoder is 0.5 mA.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-27-2011, 11:41 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,703
Okay, that puts you in Leakage Meter territory, no doubt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 AM.

Page generated in 0.09102 seconds with 9 queries