Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:32 PM
Lawnmowingperson Lawnmowingperson is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brigham City, Utah
Posts: 11
business license

Do I have to have a business license to mow lawns?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2012, 05:58 PM
chip25521 chip25521 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dayton, TN
Posts: 104
In my county I have to have a business license ($15) if I make more then $3000 a year. In Tennessee there is no sales tax on lawn mowing because it's a service, so I don't have to turn anything in. I just have to have a business license to have it and to my taxes.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 06:09 PM
Richard Martin's Avatar
Richard Martin Richard Martin is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 14,519
The best place to ask is at your city, county or state government. Every place is different. I am not required to have one.
__________________
Serving Greenville, Winterville and Ayden NC



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2012, 08:23 PM
yardguy28 yardguy28 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,465
location, location, location
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2012, 08:40 PM
weeze's Avatar
weeze weeze is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: weezertonfieldville, AL
Posts: 5,397
where i live it's required if you work within city limits. if you work outside the city limits only it's not required. so basically if you have one yard to cut that's in the city limits you need one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:34 AM
32vld 32vld is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LI NY
Posts: 3,191
The part of the state I live in my county requires you to register the business and get a home improvement contractors license. Then who knows about NYC, and upstate? Then there is sales tax.

Start with your county gov to see if they have a consumer affairs dept.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2012, 10:04 PM
GreenI.A.'s Avatar
GreenI.A. GreenI.A. is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North East
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawnmowingperson View Post
Do I have to have a business license to mow lawns?
The wording you used, looks like if you don't NEED a license then you won't get one. What are you planning for gl insurance?
__________________
Why do people not respect us as they do other tradesmen? Because every Tom, Dick, and Harry doesn't think he can be a plumber or electrician!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2012, 03:52 AM
BOSS LAWN 2343's Avatar
BOSS LAWN 2343 BOSS LAWN 2343 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 492
We are not required to have a license up here but, my customers would appreciate it if they know they are hiring a legit/legal company. Not some guy that wont be there after money is exchanged.
__________________
94 Chevy 1500 8'6" Western
96 GMC 1500 7'6" Western
98 Chevy 8'6" Western
Bobcat 763

8x30 Tandem
6x12 Single

Snapper WB Z-Turn 48" (Trac-Vac)
36" WB John Deere Z-Turn (Pro-Vac)


21 year old

Youtube: www.youtube.com/BOSSLAWN2343
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Derrel...5569495?ref=hl
[/SIZE]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2012, 03:44 PM
yardguy28 yardguy28 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOSS LAWN 2343 View Post
We are not required to have a license up here but, my customers would appreciate it if they know they are hiring a legit/legal company. Not some guy that wont be there after money is exchanged.
just because you don't have a license doesn't mean your not legit. only if your location requires it and you don't have it.

my location only requires a license to put down fert and weed aps.

no license for me since I don't do fert......
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-22-2012, 07:21 PM
WheatBookkeeping WheatBookkeeping is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 108
If you are required to pay for a business license, make sure your bookkeeper knows if the license is an annual fee or a one-time long-term fee that you, as the proprietor, own. It makes a difference on how itís shown on your books.

If you own the license, and itís transferable, itís an asset. It should be depreciated over the life of the license. If the license fee is for an annual period or shorter, its an expense and should be booked as such.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:17 PM.

Page generated in 0.08259 seconds with 9 queries