Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center


 
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2012, 01:00 AM
Mickhippy's Avatar
Mickhippy Mickhippy is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 4,084
Super Z Hydro fluid (first) change.

Hi Pj,
As you probably know I have the new SZ. Its due for its first hydro oil change and in the manual it says...
"Change hydro system filter element and oil after first 50hrs, then replace filter and oil in reservoir every 500hrs thereafter."

Are they 2 different things? I cant flush the system, I can only let it drain out of the reservoir.

What am I missing?
  #2  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:40 PM
mowerconsultant's Avatar
mowerconsultant mowerconsultant is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 9,756
Just drain the reservoir, make sure you do it with the plug, then once empty remove the filter cover.

Pj
__________________
  #3  
Old 04-11-2012, 05:00 PM
Mickhippy's Avatar
Mickhippy Mickhippy is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 4,084
Im really glad thats all it is! Thanks
  #4  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:26 PM
Downunder Bob Downunder Bob is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Queensland
Posts: 112
Hey Mick I see you traded, did you go private or with Hewlett?
  #5  
Old 04-17-2012, 08:49 AM
Mickhippy's Avatar
Mickhippy Mickhippy is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 4,084
Ive kept the old one for now as back up but may sell it later this year or so. Not sure what to do with it actually!
  #6  
Old 04-21-2012, 01:48 AM
Sharpcut 1's Avatar
Sharpcut 1 Sharpcut 1 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 450
You installed synthetic 15W50 oil, correct??
  #7  
Old 04-21-2012, 07:13 PM
Mickhippy's Avatar
Mickhippy Mickhippy is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 4,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpcut 1 View Post
You installed synthetic 15W50 oil, correct??
I used what the dealer told me to use. I bought it from them!!! I cannot remember the numbers but it is full synthetic.

It was pretty easy to change out but the cost's to do so was unbelievable!
Im in Australia so expect things to cost more here but still...
$150 for the filter.
3 x 4lt bottles of oil at approx $85/ bottle. It took around 10lt of oil to change.

Total cost, an insane... $405!!!!!!!!!

To have it done at the dealers would of added another $150+ to that!

The filter was on pretty tight and using a normal socket almost rounded the plastic bolt shaped thing you use to get a hold of. I luckily bought some Metrinch impact sockets and one of those worked a treat as it grabs from the middle rather then the corner of the bolt. A 6 sided socket may work too.

Its a pain working on your back as theres not much room under there. Raise the machine as high as possible to give yourself room. Car ramp height would be fine but you need to spin the wheels to get the air out of the lines. Not really sure how one could do this without a hoist or something.

Be sure your oil pan is big enough to hold up to 12lt for a bit of headroom.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Layout Style:





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.

Page generated in 0.08122 seconds with 10 queries