Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:36 AM
jbell36 jbell36 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 1,220
Install Controller Inside or Outside?

I have come across this thought many times, especially on new installs...Do you guys prefer to install the controller on the inside, like the garage, or on the outside?...To me the outside makes more sense so the customer never has to be home for you to do anything...Is there a reason why most are installed inside?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:44 AM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,701
Convenience for the customer and access to an outlet. Every controller I installed went inside the garage. Just the way it was done in Dallas. In blowout country I can see the reasoning to install outside.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:46 AM
Duekster Duekster is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 7,971
In Residential in our area, again DFW the SOP is in the Garage for the reasons stated above. No hard wire or weather proof plug wit covers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:56 AM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,650
Just depends on whats more feasable.. On our installs were about 50/50 inside/outside.

On existing clients of other systems about 95% of controllers are in garages up here
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2012, 09:59 AM
KrayzKajun's Avatar
KrayzKajun KrayzKajun is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Harvey,LA
Posts: 10,395
I prefer outside, for ease of adjustments for me etc...

90% of my customers have their controllers outside, it really helps especially when you notice a leak and the customer is at work etc..
__________________

Landscape Contractors
Louisiana Licensed: Landscape/Horticulturist, Commercial Ground Applicator, Arborist, Irrigation Contractor, Utility Arborist

Onsite Sandbagging, Palletized Sandbags & Bulk Totes, Emergency Response, Erosion & StormWater Barriers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2012, 12:11 PM
bcg bcg is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tx
Posts: 1,774
Most here are in the garage but if I do a new install, I put it outside by the A/C, where there is always a plug. Easier for me to maintain since nobody needs to be home.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2012, 02:07 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,554
Outdoors whenever I could, much easier to service. My guys serviced a system with an indoor clock where we had the garage combination when they were away. What the client did not tell me, was the silent alarm was connected to the garage back door, so ten minutes into the winterize, they hear the words, "freeze, turkey."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2012, 11:08 PM
jbell36 jbell36 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 1,220
good to hear...i always wondered why most were installed inside, other than if there is no option for power supply outside...we are definitely in blowout country, i always forget we have all kinds of climates on here...to me it would make much more sense for the controller to be on the outside, especially here, for any and everything...some customers want you to do EVERYTHING from simply setting the time to repair to blowouts...i absolutely hate always having to coordinate with the customer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2012, 07:41 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,952
Outside hardwired to a dedicated circuit.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-08-2012, 07:48 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cactus Hug, Arizona
Posts: 20,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1idejim View Post
Outside hardwired to a dedicated circuit.
And bypass the GFI, install a on-off switch in a water-proof enclosure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Page generated in 0.07567 seconds with 9 queries