Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-17-2012, 05:29 PM
greenmonster304's Avatar
greenmonster304 greenmonster304 is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: You Know
Posts: 2,453
I guy I know does water main service line installs. Last year he had a commercial job installing a 4" fire sprinkler line and rpz. When the county came to test it failed the flow test. He sent a camera down the line line all the way to the county valve to look for obstructions. Then the county shut down the street line so the valve could be opened. They found that when the boys from the county did the wet tap they didn't cut all the way through and a piece was left in place and restricted the flow.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-17-2012, 08:02 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmonster304 View Post
They found that when the boys from the county did the wet tap they didn't cut all the way through and a piece was left in place and restricted the flow.
I had one like that where the actual hole for the 2" tap was about the size of a finger. Seems that once the contractor doing the wet tap hit water he thought he was done.

I've done many wet taps through the years and always made measurements and marked the machine to make sure that I got the bit deep enough (without going through the other side of the pipe).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-17-2012, 08:48 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irrigation Contractor View Post
Several RB 5505 zones run #8 to #12 at 65-70 gpm and for this discussion we had 2 zones going at the same time. Meter A had static pressure of 91 psi and meter B has 49, but meter B was moving 10 gpm and A was ripping at 120 gpm.
Ok, so you're saying that these were static pressure readings, yet you're also saying that zones were running.
Have you mistakenly said "static" instead of "dynamic'?

What are the static pressure readings at meter A & B with no zones running?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-17-2012, 10:26 PM
Irrigation Contractor Irrigation Contractor is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 273
Static Pressure readings on day of test:

Meter A = 91 psi
Meter B = 49 psi

Meter A and B share the same 4" mainline that is looped with 7 other water sources which scares the hell out of me which is why we have this Controller/System isolated to just run the 97 stations on a Tucor RKD.

We came into the project when it was about a 1/3 of the way completed and it was a total bastard child. The day we stepped onto the job the site was lacking water sources for what was already in the ground, then we started adding 70 - 100 zones a year.

Once the powers at be or check writers finally realized we knew what we were talking about they have been working with us to get everything right, yet they still do not like writing those checks. We isolated areas to avoid possible 500 - 600 gpm mainline breaks. LOL
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-18-2012, 12:15 AM
stebs stebs is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eastern KS
Posts: 176
Please tell us that this site doesnt have wells tied direct into the same mainline as city water...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-18-2012, 12:21 AM
Irrigation Contractor Irrigation Contractor is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 273
I am definitely in agreement something is tapped wrong or closed off. We have dealt with several bad taps that were either not drilled all the way, the valves were partially closed and a couple where the plastic debris inserts were never removed after installation.

Static pressure should be the same through a pin hole or a 4" hole, but we are only getting a static reading at the backflow / meter. Since water is always running through the city lines is why I believe their is an issue with the water providers lines.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-18-2012, 12:22 AM
Irrigation Contractor Irrigation Contractor is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by stebs View Post
Please tell us that this site doesnt have wells tied direct into the same mainline as city water...
That would be a NO.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-18-2012, 07:09 AM
DanaMac's Avatar
DanaMac DanaMac is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Somewhere in the state of CO
Posts: 13,069
I've mentioned it many times, I see a lot of PRVs go bad and restrict flow. We replace 5-10 a year due to this.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-18-2012, 08:21 AM
cppendergrast's Avatar
cppendergrast cppendergrast is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nashville, Tn
Posts: 106
In some cities with growing pains you will find high pressure mains along side low pressure mains. The low pressure mains serve the customers in that area and the high pressure mains are for distributing to the extremities of their service area. They do tap the wrong ones from time to time. That might explain the difference is static readings.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-18-2012, 05:45 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,949
Purchasing an non contact ultrasonic flow meter may help you to locate the restriction.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 PM.

Page generated in 0.08111 seconds with 9 queries