Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2012, 07:54 PM
cuttin-to-the-Max cuttin-to-the-Max is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Commerce,MI
Posts: 1,329
Dump Insert Installed CHECK ENGINE LIGHT Is on now...

Well we had a 6.5' TruckCraft Allum. Dump Insert Installed today. (Dropped it off at 8 and my phone was ringing for pickup at Noon.)

Picked it up at the dealer then raised it half way..they let it back down. Made a few stops about an hour later my worker calls and says the Check Engine light is on...

Anyone know what it could be????

Either way im going to take it in tomorrow morning and have them fix it..

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2012, 10:51 PM
gusbuster's Avatar
gusbuster gusbuster is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sunny Northern California, San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 1,587
I don't see how an installation of a dump insert would cause a check engine light.

Usually a check engine light has something to do with emission. Even a loose gas cap will cause this. Just food for thought.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2012, 07:23 AM
cuttin-to-the-Max cuttin-to-the-Max is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Commerce,MI
Posts: 1,329
Well that's what I was saying! I just dropped off the truck so we'll see! But I forgot to mention that all a sudden the dump insert doesn't raise and the light light comes on!
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2012, 09:08 PM
hosejockey2002's Avatar
hosejockey2002 hosejockey2002 is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,193
More than likely it's related, but no way to know unless you read the code. There's literally 1000 things that can make that light come on. Since the insert doesn't work, take it back to the shop that installed it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2012, 09:14 PM
cuttin-to-the-Max cuttin-to-the-Max is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Commerce,MI
Posts: 1,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by hosejockey2002 View Post
More than likely it's related, but no way to know unless you read the code. There's literally 1000 things that can make that light come on. Since the insert doesn't work, take it back to the shop that installed it.
Yeah thats what i did earlier... i guess the breaker on the insert clicked and When we flipped it back it didnt click back over or something.... long story short, It was just the breaker and some other wire im sure... The dealer had the truck for 3 hours again so who knows what they did. All i know is the light is off and the insert works.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2012, 10:19 PM
hosejockey2002's Avatar
hosejockey2002 hosejockey2002 is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,193
Glad they solved the problem- enjoy the insert, mine is the best purchase I've ever made.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2012, 05:34 PM
lazor-cut lazor-cut is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wixom
Posts: 315
Not to hi-jack this this thread but, Im having the same problem. Had the Insert installed 2 months ago And the Check engine light comes on (Insert and everything still works) Then once i reset the switch/ breaker on the insert the light goes off.. Anyone know what i can do/?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2012, 07:24 PM
32vld 32vld is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LI NY
Posts: 3,104
How large is the battery? Is it the largest group size available for your truck?

Generator output? What amp rating do you have now? What amp ratings are there available as options for your truck?

What condition are your battery cables?

What gauge wire was used to carry the power for the insert?

How long are those power cables?

Combination length and gauge can cause excessive amperage draw causing relays and breakers to trip.

Company that did install uses light gauge wires to save money?

All these things can cause a system wide voltage drop when the insert is used causing relays to trip and trouble codes to be set.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2012, 09:01 PM
jsslawncare's Avatar
jsslawncare jsslawncare is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,658
You can get an obdII scanner for about $50. Get one and read the codes. I keep one in the door pocket of my truck.
__________________
All equipment is wore out. <- Never mind. All equipment has been repainted and with new decals. It's like I have new mower's again!
48" Ferris WB
36" Ferris WB
All Echo hand helds
<- That's how I feel at the end of the day.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2012, 05:18 PM
Ray&Christine Ray&Christine is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 181
What make and model and year of truck is it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 PM.

Page generated in 0.07445 seconds with 9 queries