Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2013, 08:22 PM
Lite4's Avatar
Lite4 Lite4 is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,870
Question on Nightscaping transformer

So I pulled out an old 1000 watt, Nightscaping transformer out of my attic that I took off of a job a couple years back. I am installing some lights out behind my house in my back trees. I figuired I would use this transformer but I am running into an issue and just wondered if any of you have seen it. I pulled all the old 25 amp fustats, and replaced them with 20 amp ones to have fresh ones in there (it's all I could find at Lowes). I hooked up my runs, but only the runs on the C and D lugs lit up. I pulled out my meter and tested all the lugs. When I turn off A and B all of the terminal colored voltage blocks seem to work as they should. When I turn ON A and B the blue and yellow lugs read 25 volts. The runs on A and B do not light up (although A and B lugs do register Voltage at the lugs.) Kind of strange, says I. It's dark and I am inside now, so I will have to check it out further tomorrow sometime, but thought I would send this out to see if any of you have any thoughts.

Thanks,
__________________


Tim Ryan
Lite4 Outdoor Lighting
www.lite-4.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2013, 09:29 PM
irrig8r irrig8r is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 4,543
Never have run into that... they do have a lifetime warranty to the original owner, whatever that may be worth...
__________________
Landscaper. Irrigator. Illuminator. Music lover. Coffee drinker.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2013, 11:28 PM
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting's Avatar
INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,866
Tim, makes sure you only use Buss Type S 25Amp fustats in that transformer. Each size of Buss Fustat has a slightly different shaped base, and they are tapered. This is to stop someone from using the wrong size of fustat. Also dont even try to install a D or P type of fuse as you will muck up the sockets.

I don't know what to say about the odd output readings you are getting... but start with the right fustats and then try again. If the internals are messed up I am pretty sure you would get a warranty replacement if you asked.
__________________
James Solecki
INTEGRA ~ Bespoke Lighting Systems ®
JSLDesign Inc.


www.integralighting.com

www.facebook.com/INTEGRA.Lighting

Affiliations: IESNA, IALD, IDA, AOLP, LO, MBA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Page generated in 0.06916 seconds with 9 queries