Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2011, 08:55 AM
avp27 avp27 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 45
Deere 332 engine loosing power when deck engages

Hi all,

I have a low hours <1000 Deere 332. It has never let me down until now.When i engage the cutting deck the engine looses power, te deck spins slowly then gradually gathers speed, takes about 30 seconds for it to get full speed. the blades spin freely, apart from that I dont know what else it could be.

any ideas ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2013, 05:11 PM
avp27 avp27 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 45
I pulled the mower out of storage and thout i would restart this thread The mower starts, runs though looks like it is sucking air or starving for diesel. Takes a while for the revs to come up to full rev and under load, it starts to loose power. What i have noticed is The fuel solenoid does not work off the relay. And when i start it I have to hold the solenoid in. My question is can I test the solenoid somehow before I replace it? What I have done so far:
1) deck rebuilt
2) bleed fuel lines

Does this sound like the culprit or if there any other area I should look at?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2013, 05:26 PM
avp27 avp27 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 45
I forgot to mention that all fuel lines and filters are new.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2013, 05:44 PM
Landrus2's Avatar
Landrus2 Landrus2 is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Big apple
Posts: 4,695
Usually fuel solenoid is on off switch you say you lose power under load my first look would be your governor settings
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2013, 03:05 AM
ricky86 ricky86 is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Monmouth Cty N.J.
Posts: 1,276
The solenoid usually has two circuits. One is pull and one is hold. The first requires much more amperage.
It usually is part of the interlock circuit. You will need a wiring schematic. You may have more than one problem. Battery fully charged and charging system working?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2013, 09:00 PM
avp27 avp27 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 45
thanks ! i just put in a new battery and holding charge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.

Page generated in 0.06444 seconds with 9 queries