Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-31-2012, 10:48 AM
danthony danthony is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: central IL.
Posts: 29
Thanks for the feedback. The integration of survey equiptment might be a bit of a long shot. But I would like to be able to integrate that into the workflow as a 'module' at some point. So I guess for now, maybe that aspect is too complex, but I still am interested in presentation software.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-31-2012, 11:25 AM
PaperCutter PaperCutter is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,466
Something to consider is I sub out all my advanced SketchUp (3d) work. I was pretty darn good with SU (if I do say so) several years ago, but in that time I've seen a lot of guys blow past me in terms of skill and talent. I had to choose between spending loads of time trying to catch up, or focusing on my core business and subbing that portion out. Subbing it was the way to go. I still do the simpler stuff in house, but anything where it needs to look photorealistic, or anything that'll take me more than 3-4 hours to model, gets outsourced. (and to be clear, outsourced to a guy on the east coast, not overseas. Nope. Won't do that)

If you want to do 3d modeling in house using SU, hit me up and I'll walk you through how I do terrain. It's dead simple/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:56 PM
danthony danthony is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: central IL.
Posts: 29
Where do you sub out these sketchup modeling and what does it cost?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-05-2013, 08:51 PM
PaperCutter PaperCutter is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,466
PM me and I'll go over it with you
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2013, 07:35 PM
HolleysLandscaping HolleysLandscaping is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 34
Have used Prolandscape for 2 years, it is good but wasn't good enough. Subbed out the designing to someone else last year for the most part. Earlier this week bought visionscape. If you know your plants and are good designing hardscapes and everything else this program is the easiest and best that I know of. You can do 3d walkthroughs like in dynascape. Also the cost comparison between visionscape and dynascape/prolandscape is big. Had the program for a week, have done 4 designs and it has paid for itself already. And designs take more than half the time than prolandscape. Try it, they give you a free demo for one design.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:05 PM
New2TheGreenIndustry New2TheGreenIndustry is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolleysLandscaping View Post
Have used Prolandscape for 2 years, it is good but wasn't good enough. Subbed out the designing to someone else last year for the most part. Earlier this week bought visionscape. If you know your plants and are good designing hardscapes and everything else this program is the easiest and best that I know of. You can do 3d walkthroughs like in dynascape. Also the cost comparison between visionscape and dynascape/prolandscape is big. Had the program for a week, have done 4 designs and it has paid for itself already. And designs take more than half the time than prolandscape. Try it, they give you a free demo for one design.
Will visionscape build an estimate or have any proposal features? Do you have to build the house before you can design, or can you take pictures like PL?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:23 PM
HolleysLandscaping HolleysLandscaping is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 34
Maybe I never used prolandscape to it's full potential idk, all I ever used was the 3D and proposal (drawing once in awhile for site plans and irrigation plans). But in visionscape you have to build the house, takes minutes for your normal house. Looks better doing it this way then when you upload the picture into prolandscape. As far as the estimate goes, I still use prolandscape's proposal program. Visionscape will tell you the square footage and whatever other numbers you need.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:56 PM
New2TheGreenIndustry New2TheGreenIndustry is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 638
A few more questions for you regarding plant lists. I see they have Monrovia and Proven Winners listed. Do you have access plants outside of those growers? Can you make favorites lists, and can you organize the database by hardiness zone?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-20-2013, 11:02 PM
HolleysLandscaping HolleysLandscaping is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 34
Not sure I can answer that question. Just started with this program the first of the week. Also, all we use personally are those two company's here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.

Page generated in 0.06685 seconds with 9 queries