Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2013, 12:43 PM
pblc pblc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South
Posts: 218
Electrical connection to Existing System??

We are starting out in irrigation installation. Won the bid for a small addition to an existing irrigation system. Its a 150x300 rectangle with coverage from RB 5004s.

I am confused how to wire in the valves to be most efficient. How are we going to connect to the common without grounding out the others? (I don't remember this ever being covered in classes.) We are installing 10 zones into the backyard of a larger system that has a total of 20 zones already.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2013, 01:29 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,052
Just what do see as already being grounded on the existing system?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2013, 03:22 PM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
Just what do see as already being grounded on the existing system?
Im not sure what more confusing, his question or yours.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2013, 03:29 PM
pblc pblc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South
Posts: 218
Ok..... how do we connect our common wire to have these new zones work with the existing system....?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2013, 03:51 PM
txirrigation txirrigation is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 938
Find the closest existing valve and use that common wire to run to the rest of the valves.

Honestly, sub this out to someone who has done it and watch them. You may not make much money, but you will not loose a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2013, 04:05 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by AI Inc View Post
Im not sure what more confusing, his question or yours.
I still work with a lot of systems where no single part of the control wiring is grounded. If the ungrounded systems work for decade after decade, the need for grounding is not being demonstrated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2013, 04:34 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by txirrigation View Post
Find the closest existing valve and use that common wire to run to the rest of the valves.

Honestly, sub this out to someone who has done it and watch them. You may not make much money, but you will not loose a lot.


Without field experience you are placing yourself in a tight spot and doing the client a disservice, hire a qualified sub and shadow him.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2013, 04:35 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
I still work with a lot of systems where no single part of the control wiring is grounded. If the ungrounded systems work for decade after decade, the need for grounding is not being demonstrated.
In over your head Shoes, he's not talking about grounding. He's talking about the common.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-13-2013, 04:44 PM
pblc pblc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South
Posts: 218
By the responses given.... I take it that connecting to an existing system will be more complicated than installing an entire new system?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-13-2013, 04:48 PM
pblc pblc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South
Posts: 218
I had planned on hooking onto the last valve and connecting the common wire to the new valve's common wire. And connecting all 10 new valves together in this manner.

However at the supply shop they had told me I needed to loop the last valve and wire back to the controller. And this is what confused me....
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 PM.

Page generated in 0.08673 seconds with 9 queries