Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2013, 06:24 PM
MEXANDME MEXANDME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MYRTLE BEACH,SC
Posts: 397
One Pump, One Pump Start Relay, and 2 Controllers

I am in the process of replacing a very old RB controller. It is a RC 7-A with the push-pull pins. It activates a pump start relay that turns on a deep well 220V pump. The controller, PSR, and pump are all at the same location.

The pump / PSR is also activated by a RB ESPM controller that is about 200 feet away for another system. Apparently there are two conductors getting from the distant controller (ESPM) to the RC 7-A controller. The reason I say "apparently" is because there is quite a "spider web" of wires in the RC 7-A controller cabinet.

My question is this. There is also a low voltage relay wired into this "spider web" that, being the novice that I am, I do not understand. Do I need to keep the relay or can I just terminate all 4 leads ( 2 ea MV and 2 ea Common) directly to the PSR?

I am just trying to understand what my options are before I dig into the "spider web."

Thanks in advanced for any assistance!

Mex
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2013, 06:33 PM
greenmonster304's Avatar
greenmonster304 greenmonster304 is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: You Know
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEXANDME View Post
I am in the process of replacing a very old RB controller. It is a RC 7-A with the push-pull pins. It activates a pump start relay that turns on a deep well 220V pump. The controller, PSR, and pump are all at the same location.

The pump / PSR is also activated by a RB ESPM controller that is about 200 feet away for another system. Apparently there are two conductors getting from the distant controller (ESPM) to the RC 7-A controller. The reason I say "apparently" is because there is quite a "spider web" of wires in the RC 7-A controller cabinet.

My question is this. There is also a low voltage relay wired into this "spider web" that, being the novice that I am, I do not understand. Do I need to keep the relay or can I just terminate all 4 leads ( 2 ea MV and 2 ea Common) directly to the PSR?

I am just trying to understand what my options are before I dig into the "spider web."

Thanks in advanced for any assistance!

Mex
It sounds like you have an isolation relay in there. There should be two. I had this situation last spring http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.p...pring+surprise
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2013, 06:55 PM
MEXANDME MEXANDME is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MYRTLE BEACH,SC
Posts: 397
304.............It is interesting that you mention that there should be two relays. There is the one that I mentioned in the original thread that is wired in in the RC 7-A cabinet AND there is one laying in the ESPM cabinet but not wired in. It's an old relay just laying in the cabinet. It appears that it used to be wired in. It looks just like the one in the RC 7-A cabinet.

Can I just eliminate the one in the RC 7-A cabinet altogether? Or will that cause a backfeed, voltage drop, etc. situation?

Thanks for help with this. I am out of my league on this one!

Regards,

Mex
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2013, 07:00 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEXANDME View Post
304.............It is interesting that you mention that there should be two relays. There is the one that I mentioned in the original thread that is wired in in the RC 7-A cabinet AND there is one laying in the ESPM cabinet but not wired in. It's an old relay just laying in the cabinet. It appears that it used to be wired in. It looks just like the one in the RC 7-A cabinet.

Can I just eliminate the one in the RC 7-A cabinet altogether? Or will that cause a backfeed, voltage drop, etc. situation?

Thanks for help with this. I am out of my league on this one!

Regards,

Mex
Hunter, Rainbird and Toro have online wiring diagrams for multiple controllers, PSR etc.

Sorry i dont have a link
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2013, 07:47 PM
greenmonster304's Avatar
greenmonster304 greenmonster304 is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: You Know
Posts: 2,457
The problem I was having was that the Total Control was back feeding a I Core and causing errors. You should hook them back up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2013, 08:12 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,823
http://www.transitionalsystems.com/isolator.htm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2013, 11:17 PM
SoCalLandscapeMgmt SoCalLandscapeMgmt is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,511
I don't have a copy here at home but at the office I have an older Rain Bird technical manual that shows the correct wiring so that two controllers can operate one PSR. You do need two smaller relays to keep the controllers isolated from each other. When I get into the office on Monday I'll have to pull it out and scan it for you. It's a handy piece of reference to have. The two smaller relays are only about $25 each.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2013, 11:37 PM
cppendergrast's Avatar
cppendergrast cppendergrast is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nashville, Tn
Posts: 106
You might find a product called an Isolator that only requires one for two controllers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2013, 01:18 AM
HunterTekGeek HunterTekGeek is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 45
I agree with the other posts suggesting you contact your irrigation manufacturer for an isolation relay schematic. If you back-feed the RC-7A with 24 VAC through the Master Valve circuit (from the other controller) it will activate the rapid advance motor, click over to Station 1, and start the controller.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2013, 08:35 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterTekGeek View Post
I agree with the other posts suggesting you contact your irrigation manufacturer for an isolation relay schematic. If you back-feed the RC-7A with 24 VAC through the Master Valve circuit (from the other controller) it will activate the rapid advance motor, click over to Station 1, and start the controller.
One of those happenings that make the poor installers tear their hair.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 AM.

Page generated in 0.07031 seconds with 9 queries