Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2013, 06:42 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 10,920
Chev Truck Wiring For Brake Controller

Chev stubs out wiring under the dash to install a conroller. Only problem the power that should be on the black/red wire is not present. I can see a black red wire hooked to the fuse box in the engine compartment and it does have 12v at that point. I am assuming I need to put a fuse somewhere in the fuse box. Anybody run into this situation?

I am trying to avoid doing a continutiy check into that fuse box.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2013, 06:47 PM
Bigred350 Bigred350 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florence,AL
Posts: 677
Did you buy a pig tail that hooks to the box under the dash?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2013, 07:10 PM
Richard Martin's Avatar
Richard Martin Richard Martin is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 14,371
My Tenkohsa controller just plugged right in. http://www.etrailer.com/tv-Install-B...erado_web.aspx
__________________
Serving Greenville, Winterville and Ayden NC


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2013, 07:21 PM
ReddensLawnCare ReddensLawnCare is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,377
Call my cell at 704-796-1308 and i will walk you through it. It is an easy but stupid process. There is a few hidden terminals in your fuse box
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2013, 08:00 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 10,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReddensLawnCare View Post
Call my cell at 704-796-1308 and i will walk you through it. It is an easy but stupid process. There is a few hidden terminals in your fuse box
Posted via Mobile Device
I figured there had to be a fuse somewhere they definitely wasn't going to run a wire straight in. I don't hear very well so call won't work. Which box should I look at the one under hood or the one inside next to driver?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2013, 08:25 PM
ReddensLawnCare ReddensLawnCare is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,377
First off what year and make
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2013, 09:46 PM
ReddensLawnCare ReddensLawnCare is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,377
Well if it is a newer model them feel around the right hand side of the engine compartment fuse box. You will find a wire with a ring washer on the end wrapped in electrical tape. Open that up and connect it to the terminal that is empty on the front of the fuse box. There should be two. One with something on it and one empty. Once you do that your problem is solved
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2013, 09:13 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 10,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReddensLawnCare View Post
Well if it is a newer model them feel around the right hand side of the engine compartment fuse box. You will find a wire with a ring washer on the end wrapped in electrical tape. Open that up and connect it to the terminal that is empty on the front of the fuse box. There should be two. One with something on it and one empty. Once you do that your problem is solved
Posted via Mobile Device
Truck is 2013.....yes I see where the red/black wire comes to the fuse box in the engine compartment and it has 12v on the terminal. But at the other end of the red/black wire that is stub under the dash no voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2013, 10:31 PM
ReddensLawnCare ReddensLawnCare is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,377
Don't look under the dash. Look under the compartment frame rail or fuse block. I will take some pictures in the am. Pm me your # if you can do text/pics and i will send you the steps
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-04-2013, 10:37 PM
ReddensLawnCare ReddensLawnCare is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,377
http://youtu.be/Ff64BLIxIzE. There is a video on what you need to do
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 AM.

Page generated in 0.08088 seconds with 9 queries