Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2013, 09:20 AM
birddseedd birddseedd is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 1,912
new echo being stupid

last echo I got worked great. one pull on choke and it popes. one pull without choke and it was ready to go.

this new one. does not start easy at all for a new trimmer. have to give full throttle with choke. then when I do get it going I have to stand there holding the throttle till the trimmer gets going and stops missing. it also seems to be burning gas like crazy.

its like this every single time I get out of the truck.

shop says spa changed laws and the new 225s are just like that. I think they are giving me a load.

your opinion?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs.landscaping View Post
wait why do you prefer Scag? I thought you owned a Bobcat that mowed the first American Colonies
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2013, 09:33 AM
herler herler is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,722
Spark plug gap.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2013, 01:06 PM
Valk's Avatar
Valk Valk is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern KS
Posts: 2,721
My Echo dealer says about 1 in 5 Echo trimmers need the carb adjusted...as it left the factory out of adjustment.
Good luck.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
~ cut it high ~ let it fly ~
---------------------------------------------------
Some folks are so contrary that if they fell into a river,
they'd insist on floating upstream.
~ Josh Billings
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2013, 02:00 PM
birddseedd birddseedd is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 1,912
plug is burnt white and covered on oil
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs.landscaping View Post
wait why do you prefer Scag? I thought you owned a Bobcat that mowed the first American Colonies
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2013, 02:39 PM
Blade Runners's Avatar
Blade Runners Blade Runners is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Woodlawn, TN
Posts: 912
White plug is a lean carb. They probably ship them lean from the factory to meet epa specs. Having to choke it to start is a clue.
__________________

Scag mowers
++++++++++++++++++++++++++
www.ClarksvilleLawnCare.us

"Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later."
-Og Mandino
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2013, 07:04 PM
lawnboy dan lawnboy dan is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: north florida
Posts: 3,467
dont buy echo -its junk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2013, 09:05 AM
Frankee Frankee is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 22
flash the choke a few times while holding it full throttle in a few seconds it will be running correctly, if not the carb needs readjustment. The EPA rules have all 2 cycle equipment running as lean as possible and most are a little cold blooded. flashing the choke as you hold it full throttle will get it to got full throttle quickly. It usually takes about 5 choke flashes.

start the unit, go full throttle, hit the choke lever immediately for a split second, then off choke right away, wait 2 seconds still holding full throttle, and then do it again. repeat those steps until the units is stable at full throttle.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2013, 09:08 AM
GrassGuerilla GrassGuerilla is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 1,418
Either you need to remove the plugs and adjust the carb, or take it to a shop and have it done. White plug is LEAN. Won't last long as is.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-05-2013, 09:22 AM
birddseedd birddseedd is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 1,912
running lean makes sense. how do I adjust it? I assume there's an adjustment acre like all other carbs?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrs.landscaping View Post
wait why do you prefer Scag? I thought you owned a Bobcat that mowed the first American Colonies
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-05-2013, 09:24 AM
GrassGuerilla GrassGuerilla is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 1,418
It is new yeah? Take it to the dealer and have it serviced.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.

Page generated in 0.11222 seconds with 9 queries