Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2013, 09:14 AM
BruinLawn BruinLawn is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 72
Kawasaki Fc420v to fh381v

Ive got a 48"bobcat and the kawasaki fc420v engine die. I have a new Kawasaki fh381v just sitting in the garage left over from a project. So I want to swap out the engines. Are the bolt patterns the same or will i have to drill new holes in the mower to secure the new engine? And are the crankshaft sizes the same? I looked all over online and found nothing on this topic.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2013, 10:15 AM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,759
The pattern is the same, Pull the blown engine and compare the crank size/length.......
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...
Quote:
Originally Posted by MannsLawnService View Post
some times the man in my mirror isn't so smart...
"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2013, 01:12 PM
BruinLawn BruinLawn is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 72
Thanks for the help. Hopefully going from a 14 hp to a 13HP engine wont affect performance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2013, 08:24 AM
jeannewyatt jeannewyatt is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: lawrenceville ga
Posts: 72
You will have a problem with the choke cable not being long enough. Everything else will work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2013, 10:18 AM
pugs pugs is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southwest of Chicago
Posts: 2,768
Crankshaft should be the same. You will need a longer throttle cable to get to the front of the engine. The bolt in the center of the crank will need to be changed also. The old engine has a metric bolt while the new one will be SAE I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2013, 10:46 AM
Sharpcut 1's Avatar
Sharpcut 1 Sharpcut 1 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 450
You're gonna need exhaust if your old engine does'nt have it, and it has to clear the deck cover.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.

Page generated in 0.06731 seconds with 9 queries