Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2013, 04:36 PM
DXN1EL DXN1EL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 353
Hydro Walk Behind

Hello everyone.

My 28" WorldLawn mower is near to become crap, still works but is a pain in the a$$ sometimes. I was thinking to get a Grasshopper 321D 48" but right now I can't justify the cost of this thing. I was thinking to get a 32" I measure some of the gates and seems that a 36" would fit just fine so why not get a hydro.
Here in south Texas is dry, everything is all flat and I mow St. Agustin. With that been said I have always do the maintenance myself, and have always bought parts online.
I was looking at the John Deere WH36A
What do you guys think?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2013, 06:16 PM
Valk's Avatar
Valk Valk is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern KS
Posts: 2,713
Are all 36" mowers 36" wide? NO.
.02
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
~ cut it high ~ let it fly ~
---------------------------------------------------
Some folks are so contrary that if they fell into a river,
they'd insist on floating upstream.
~ Josh Billings
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2013, 07:27 PM
echo echo is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 1,167
I'd look at a Snapper Pro. Great mower and less money if you're buying new.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2013, 08:32 PM
DXN1EL DXN1EL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 353
Thanks guys
The Snapper Pro SW20 is great! 100+ pounds lighter and little over 1k cheaper. But it only goes to 4.5" the dear goes to 5"
my cheapo mower only goes to 4" I need 5"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2013, 08:49 PM
LibertyFarmLandscaping's Avatar
LibertyFarmLandscaping LibertyFarmLandscaping is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NE TX
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by DXN1EL View Post
Thanks guys
The Snapper Pro SW20 is great! 100+ pounds lighter and little over 1k cheaper. But it only goes to 4.5" the dear goes to 5"
my cheapo mower only goes to 4" I need 5"
Why do you need 5" cutting height here in TX?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2013, 09:24 PM
DXN1EL DXN1EL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 353
I cut St.Augustine. for the nicest lawns need to be cut the highest possible.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2013, 10:04 PM
LibertyFarmLandscaping's Avatar
LibertyFarmLandscaping LibertyFarmLandscaping is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NE TX
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by DXN1EL View Post
I cut St.Augustine. for the nicest lawns need to be cut the highest possible.
Ok. That's news to me. The highest I cut St Aug is 3.75". I have some St Aug yards on 1mil + homes. Here's the folks at TX A&M thoughts on this.

http://publications.tamu.edu/TURF_LANDSCAPE/PUB_turf_Maintaining%20St.%20Augustine%20Grass%20Lawns.pdf
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2013, 11:18 PM
A. W. Landscapers, Inc.'s Avatar
A. W. Landscapers, Inc. A. W. Landscapers, Inc. is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 1,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by DXN1EL View Post
Thanks guys
The Snapper Pro SW20 is great! 100+ pounds lighter and little over 1k cheaper. But it only goes to 4.5" the dear goes to 5"
my cheapo mower only goes to 4" I need 5"
Quote:
Originally Posted by DXN1EL View Post
I cut St.Augustine. for the nicest lawns need to be cut the highest possible.
5" is really tall for St. Augustine.

St. Augustine should be cut to a height of 2 1/2" to 3" and 3" to 3 1/2" in shady areas…3" is generally a good all around height if you have a mixture of sunny and shady areas.
__________________
Regards,
Scott
A. W. Landscapers, Inc.
www.awlandscapers.com

Hustler X-One 60"
Wright Stander RH 36"
eXmark 21" ECXKA21 Mower
Stihl FC110 Edger
Stihl FS90 Trimmer
Stihl FS55R Trimmer
Stihl HS56C Hedge Trimmer
Stihl MS391 25" Bar Chainsaw
RedMax EBZ7100 Blower
Earthquake 16" Rear Tine Tiller
Honda 9" Mini Tiller FG110
2014 GMC Sierra Denali HD
7' x 16' Enclosed V-Nose Trailer
6' x 12' Dump Trailer
Equipment & Work thread: http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=415830
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2013, 06:49 PM
DXN1EL DXN1EL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 353
I was looking at a eXMark Turf Tracer and it doesn't have electric clutch?????????
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-26-2013, 01:15 PM
Church2224 Church2224 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by DXN1EL View Post
I was looking at a eXMark Turf Tracer and it doesn't have electric clutch?????????
The S Series do not. That said I have a 2013 S Series 48 and absolutely love it. It is a tank and has plenty of power.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 PM.

Page generated in 0.07703 seconds with 9 queries