Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-09-2003, 09:55 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Lawn customers not responding

I was wondering if any of you other companies are having a hard time getting last years customers to send proposals back in? In fall 2002 I sent them out for this year contracts and i received only a few back. About three weeks ago i sent them out again, with only a couple back in. I have only received 1/3 back as of 3/8/03. Should i be worried or does it take them till spring to send them in? I didn't increase prices either.
Please help me stop worrying.
Jason

(This is my first year with proposals/ contracts is this the probelm that scared them?)
Old 03-09-2003, 10:04 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quit worrying you baby!!!!!!!!

I'm just kidding Jason. I wouldn't get too excited, especially with the recent snows we got this last week. I'm in the same boat. Some people are quick to respond, but most take a few weeks. I personally wish they would send the stuff back also instead of waiting until the last minute, but that's how people are.

Been relatively busy this week with plowing so it's not on my mind as much right now, although spring will be here shortly.
Old 03-09-2003, 10:10 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

If you do automatic renewals it will make your life much easier. Send them a letter stating that they will be automatically renewed unless they call and cancel. The ones who want to cancel will do so in a short amount of time. The rest do not have to worry about anything and neither do you.
This is the way we do it now and it works great. We used to do it your way and the worring got to be to much. If it is something the customer has to do they will put it off until the grass gets knee high and then call to renew and want you out yesterday.
Try it and I think it will make your life a little easier.
Old 03-09-2003, 10:51 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member