Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-09-2014, 09:17 AM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,827
I would be a bit more concerned with the whys and wherefores of the existing controllers demise than the few extra hundred dollars of reinstalling the new controller.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-2014, 09:18 AM
ArTurf ArTurf is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ark
Posts: 1,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiril View Post
Surface mount or recessed? Interior or exterior? Terminal block, distribution board or something else? Lot of options .... how much money do you have?

In the garage, money not a prob but no point in going past reasonable. Not trying to make it more complicated than needs to be. 20 or more stations so lots of wires.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-09-2014, 09:29 AM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArTurf View Post
In the garage, money not a prob but no point in going past reasonable. Not trying to make it more complicated than needs to be. 20 or more stations so lots of wires.
Money spent on clean installs is money well spent ArTurf. Even the most frugal person appreciates craftsmanship. Your other choice is to put a splice box in the ground under the existing location and run new wiring into the garage where you're installing the new controller. If you're wiring a remote you'll have a mess anyway, unless you use a junction box with terminal strips.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-2014, 05:46 PM
RhettMan's Avatar
RhettMan RhettMan is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,310
speaking of frugal !

Here is my ghetto set-up in my garage....
I thought it would go well with my ghetto temp. garage doors....

______

Its Multistrand between 212 and box, from there its 16 guage to the valves.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-2014, 05:57 PM
RhettMan's Avatar
RhettMan RhettMan is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,310
Jim what are those "line boxes" ?

Are a pair of screws within the linebox much like a wire-nut?

I've never seen those before, that would be much better than a butt-load of wirenuts crammed into the box. (as is the case in the above picture ^)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-09-2014, 06:03 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by RhettMan View Post
Jim what are those "line boxes" ?

Are a pair of screws within the linebox much like a wire-nut?

I've never seen those before, that would be much better than a butt-load of wirenuts crammed into the box. (as is the case in the above picture ^)
Line box for the power to the clock Rhett. Terminal strips inside the junction box

http://www.wiringproducts.com/termin...erminal-strips
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-09-2014, 08:36 PM
cjohn2000's Avatar
cjohn2000 cjohn2000 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArTurf View Post
In the garage, money not a prob but no point in going past reasonable. Not trying to make it more complicated than needs to be. 20 or more stations so lots of wires.
Cant be worse than this. . .
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-09-2014, 10:19 PM
windflower windflower is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: wilmington nc
Posts: 659
You could feather the connections, solder the wires and use heat shrink. Would take a while but result would be pretty clean.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-10-2014, 07:43 AM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,226
Can ya yank the wires thru the wall and install an exterior?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Page generated in 0.07618 seconds with 10 queries