Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2013, 10:09 AM
jay317 jay317 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 342
Solenoid??

Hi guys...for some reason my Scag Tiger Cub keep going through starter solenoids this is my second one this season,can someone please help me with this issue,thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2013, 12:45 AM
greenrhino72 greenrhino72 is online now
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: nc
Posts: 13
solenoid

My tiger cub is on its third,150 hrs. First two were OEM, this time i put a heavy duty one from advance auto for a ford vehicle.Only been 20hrs so far,but working good still. Would like to know whats causing failures also.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2013, 05:13 AM
jay317 jay317 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenrhino72 View Post
My tiger cub is on its third,150 hrs. First two were OEM, this time i put a heavy duty one from advance auto for a ford vehicle.Only been 20hrs so far,but working good still. Would like to know whats causing failures also.
I might try that..what's the difference in the two as far as installing???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:04 PM
greenrhino72 greenrhino72 is online now
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: nc
Posts: 13
Not much difference ,uses same bolt holes just had to put new ends on wires.There was one extra terminal on new solenoid not sure what it does. I put it in ,fired right up....no click
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:32 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 11,387
I would look at all the grounds to be sure they are clean and tight. I never had a problem with my Tiger Cub with Kohler on it. I got a bunch of Scag units and I never had to get into whether they have a relay to operate that solenoid but that could be defective. I would change switch and the fuse holders and clean up all connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:46 PM
jay317 jay317 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 342
Got it figured out..bad solenoid put new one one and fired right up!!!thanks for input
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2013, 10:04 PM
ed2hess's Avatar
ed2hess ed2hess is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin Texas 78727
Posts: 11,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay317 View Post
Got it figured out..bad solenoid put new one one and fired right up!!!thanks for input
Keep in mind I have never needed a selenoid on a scag...maybe a starter now and then but never just a selenoid. Oh maybe because I don't wash my machine and I remove the starter and have a shop clean em each year might make a difference.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Page generated in 0.07070 seconds with 9 queries