Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:21 AM
Nullqwerty Nullqwerty is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 37
Garden hose over new grass seed

Hey folks,

Forgive me for this stupid question. Yesterday I planted grass seed for a new 5000 sq ft lawn. My town doesn't allow underground sprinklers, so I ran garden hoses attached to sprinklers and a timer. I had to put the sprinklers in the center of the lawn in order to reach all spots. What's the best strategy for dealing with the garden hose because I'm assuming when the grass is all grown, I'm going to have a bare dirt line where the garden hose was. I can move the hose every day by a few inches to try to avoid it if that'll do the trick? My fear there is that I might end up with many bare dirt lines instead of just the one. Or I can just leave the hose in one spot and assume it'll fill in within a couple of months? What do you think? Does it even matter?

This is in MA, on a sunny lawn. The seed is the Sunny Seed Mix from SeedSuperStore.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2013, 06:57 PM
Smallaxe Smallaxe is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 9,822
The hose is the least of the problem and should fill in once the lawn gets going... you'd do more damage walking around on it moving the hose...
__________________
*
Now that I know that clay's texture(platelets) has nothing to do with water infiltration, percolation, or drainage
,,, I wonder what does...
*
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2013, 10:16 AM
Colonel Forbin Colonel Forbin is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 76
I need to come up with a sprinkler system for my 15k lawn in a few weeks when I renovate it. I was thinking about getting some steel or aluminum stock and making a loop with stick to stick in the ground to set the hose on I figure 8 of them would work fine, for 3 sprinklers and 2 hoses ran from 2 sources one on the side of the house and one from my garage. I won't have to walk on the lawn and I wouldn't have to move them. I guess I'll find out if I have sufficient coverage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2013, 09:42 PM
RigglePLC's Avatar
RigglePLC RigglePLC is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 9,273
I suggest "spike-bases" for your sprinkler heads. Use the pass-through type. With good water pressure...each one will cover an 80 foot circle. In theory, you should be able to run two at a time. Then have the timer begin the back yard after the front shuts itself off, (to keep the pressure high).

http://www.rittenhouse.ca/asp/Product.asp?PG=1211
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 AM.

Page generated in 0.06059 seconds with 9 queries