Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-23-2005, 08:13 PM
LawnSite Member

New Lawn Care Business! Need Advice in NJ

I am new to owning my own Business, and would like any advice possible from you seasoned veterans. I have been involved in lawn care for some time, and I have finally decided to venture out on my own. This is a start from scratch company located in Northern NJ, around the wayne area. I am currently about to go out and purchase some new equipment which will consist of the follwoing:
Exmark Metro 36" Exmark Viking 52" etc... I am most concerned with the models of the exmark. I know i will need the Metro 36 for smaller yards with fences, And I know I will need the 52" for those larger yards. Here it goes my dealer is trying to sell me a fixed deck viking. I am under the impression that an adjustable deck is the way to go. That would lead me to believe that the viking is not good. See i am a firm believer in If i am gonna spend it than it better right otherwise there is no point in spending it all. In this sense what do you think ????

I am starting from scratch with basically no clientell at all , so what is your opinion on the best way besides door to door to picku p customers i nthis area. (for those that do not know it It is a very competitive area to say the least)

Is there any Advise or opinions you would like to give on equipment/adverstising or even just plain old startup?

I am looking to incorporate into an LLC, And carry up to 1mil in insurance a year. I guess this whole post is about equipment and advertising.

also if you are from the area and know it , Gimmi an idea if you would please on your pricing and advertising methods.

Thankyou
Old 03-23-2005, 08:31 PM
LawnSite Gold Member