Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 04-05-2005, 05:43 PM
LawnSite Member

edging with trimmers?

im new to this and im not going to have the money to buy a gas edger for a while. how well can a edge with my trimmers and do you have any advice?
Old 04-05-2005, 05:47 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

There is a reason it's called a trimmer and not an edger. I know a guy that hit a rock while edging, it hit him in the eye and now he only has one left.
Old 04-05-2005, 06:08 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Equipguy
I know a guy that hit a rock while edging, it hit him in the eye and now he only has one left.
What does that have to do with anything? It was a freak accident, nothing more. He should have been wearing eye protection. Do a search on here and you'll see posts about people hitting rocks and other things with their mowers and breaking windows. I doubt they're going to stop using their mowers and switch to scissors.

As for the original question, you can maintain an already established edge with a string trimmer (preferably with an Edgit attached to it), but doing edging with a string trimmer alone is going to leave an unsatisfactory looking result.

Last edited by The C Man; 04-05-2005 at 06:13 PM.
Old 04-06-2005, 04:36 PM
LawnSite Member

I agree w/ above Save your money and buy an edger it looks 100 % better
Old 04-06-2005, 06:03 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Well I guess this is on-topic since you're talking about edging, rocks, and trimmers.

I was edging a front walk one. I heard my customer (who was standing in her driveway) shouting. I Shut it down, turned around, and the rear side window of her mini-van had disentegrated. In the back seat, along with a pile of safety glass, was a rock that the edger had picked up.

For $80 I got a window from a junk-yard and made everybody happy. She was pretty cool about it. It was almost funny (except that it could have been someones head).