Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 04-14-2005, 07:34 PM
LawnSite Member

What am I doing wrong?

I am new to this business, well atleast running the business and lost bids today to someone that is charging more than me, both were around $9 cheaper per mow. I am giving them a very nice presentation with the estimates with a cover letter in an envelope, it's all very professionlly done.....I just dont get it, any suggestions on how you guys do your estimate process and follow up, do I need more customer interaction??????
Old 04-14-2005, 07:45 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

All i do is write a price down on the back of my business card and that seems to do it for me.
Old 04-14-2005, 09:02 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by fairways
I am new to this business, well atleast running the business and lost bids today to someone that is charging more than me, both were around $9 cheaper per mow. I am giving them a very nice presentation with the estimates with a cover letter in an envelope, it's all very professionlly done.....I just dont get it, any suggestions on how you guys do your estimate process and follow up, do I need more customer interaction??????
fairways I hear ya. I been trying to gain new customers this season and like you I have a nice professional presentation and I'm in a slump I am 1 for 5 this week, one lady didn't like the way my contract looked thats why she didn't go with me, whatever. And 2 other customers said it wasn't the price but they felt bad for the guy they have been using, so my question to them waas then why waste my time giving you an estimate? Either they wanted a really cheaper price or they were price shopping. Hang in there, there are a lot of us struggeling it seems this year.

On our own as of 2003. Proud to be a full time, legitimate company.

Equipment we use:
Ford trucks
Pro Line and GatorMade trailer's
Gravely, Exmark, Honda and Snapper mower's
Echo trimmer's and blower's
LittleWonder equipment