Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2005, 04:53 PM
rtm038 rtm038 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 6
A few questions

Hello everyone,
I'm new to the site and I have some questions for you guys (gals too).

First, I'm adding grass to an area that was previously covered in woodchips. I've taken away the woodchips and need to add some top soil before seeding. The area is approximately 20'x30' and I will need to fill some low areas in a little. How much top soil do you think I will need to have delivered?

Second, how do I get rid of this type of weed or grass (see attached pic.)?

Thanks everyone,
Ryan
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2005, 05:47 PM
surfisher211's Avatar
surfisher211 surfisher211 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 142
broadleaf plantain, normally a perennial, sometimes behaves as an annual. It is a problem in lawns and sometimes in thin alfalfa and pastures as well as christmas trees. It is a low growing plant with large leaves. use any broad leaf killer on it

and the top soil if you go 2 inches deep u will need about 44.44 cubic yards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2005, 06:20 PM
rtm038 rtm038 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 6
Great.....thanks for the info. BTW; I'm no mathematician, so tell me how you figured 44.44 cubic yards of top soil at 2" deep.

Thanks again
Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2005, 06:27 PM
surfisher211's Avatar
surfisher211 surfisher211 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 142
http://www.soilbuildingsystems.com/CubicYard.php

keep it in your favorites i use it on the computer when i do estimates
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2005, 07:31 PM
surfisher211's Avatar
surfisher211 surfisher211 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 142
ops sorry ryan make that 3.7 cu yards of top soil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2005, 11:25 PM
rtm038 rtm038 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 6
Thank god.......when I saw 44.44 cubic yards, I said............ . That would be like a tandem load. Now 3.7 would be like 1 mason dump load right?

Thanks again,
Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2005, 08:08 AM
surfisher211's Avatar
surfisher211 surfisher211 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jersey
Posts: 142
i belive so what part of jersey u in ? i am in point plesant ocean county
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:53 AM
Remsen1's Avatar
Remsen1 Remsen1 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Barneveld, NY
Posts: 1,021
If you don't have your computer with you and you don't have a calculator with a third power or "cubic" key (I'm not sure what it is actually called), you can figure it out like this. First I figure the square inches of the area. In your case 240"x360"=86400". Then I determine depth (how much soil or stone or much I want) to add. If you want to add 2" then multiply the 86400"x2"=172800". There are 46656" cubic inches in a cubic yard. Divide the 172800"/46656"=3.71 cubic yards. That would be a small dump truck load, like a F-550 dumper (correct me if I am wrong about that.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:33 AM
Pro-Scapes's Avatar
Pro-Scapes Pro-Scapes is offline
LawnSite Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Mississippi
Posts: 4,224
hey Ryan I do alot of soil work and would just be sure to get at least 4 yards. you said you had low spots thats gonna eat up some more too. dont skimp on it you can always find low spots in the rest of the yard if you got to much.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:16 PM
rtm038 rtm038 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 6
Hey everyone.....thanks for all the help on this. Got one more question for ya. I had 4 yards delivered today and it was enough to do my original area and then some. So I decided to break up and dig out my cracked & weathered concrete walkway (about 2'x6') and used the remaining soil to fill in the void. Worked out perfect. Anyway, the top soil I got has a lot of small rocks in it. Should I rake them out or just seed the soil and worry about them later?

BTW surfisher211, I live in Morris Plains, which is around an hour or so from you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 PM.

Page generated in 0.09349 seconds with 8 queries