Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-16-2005, 08:40 PM
LawnSite Member

New, and unpriced HELP

I'm new to the lawn stuff. I'm a young adult, (middle school or so) and I'm trying to get a summer job. Just to get a few extra bucks in my pocket.
Anyway, all i wanna do is some yards in my own neighborhood. The yards are fairly sized (small almost) and I dont know how much, and how to charge (eg hourly or by yard). Just a few customers, and im working alone>

Also, I've got an ol lawnmower, works pretty good. Would it be good enough to mow lawns with?

ANY help, would be appreciated
Old 05-16-2005, 09:17 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Hi funkey, welcome to the site. I'd say you need to do a search and learn a little bit about the industry, you can't go wrong with more knowledge. About your question... the only way to figure out what to charge is knowing your costs. How much does it cost you to operate your lawnmower per hour? Don't forget the gas, oil changes, blades etc that need to be maintained. After you know your costs of the equipment per hour then you can figure out what to charge based on what you want to make. If you want to make $10 an hour then charge whatever your costs are plus $10 for an hour lawn.

Good luck with your venture, remember to respect the other LCO's in your area, dont try to steal their accounts!
Old 05-16-2005, 09:18 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks Cameron
Old 05-16-2005, 09:25 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkey
I'm new to the lawn stuff. I'm a young adult, (middle school or so) and I'm trying to get a summer job. Just to get a few extra bucks in my pocket.
Anyway, all i wanna do is some yards in my own neighborhood. The yards are fairly sized (small almost) and I dont know how much, and how to charge (eg hourly or by yard). Just a few customers, and im working alone>

Also, I've got an ol lawnmower, works pretty good. Would it be good enough to mow lawns with?

ANY help, would be appreciated