Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-23-2005, 10:37 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Search engine answers

Hi,
I've been working on my site a little every day since September 2000. Although the site in and of itself IS a search engine/directory, please do not let that fool you into thinking my traffic problems are over just because of that. Matter of fact, for a long time I had a LOT of problems getting traffic.

For a real-world business site that HAS a presence (unlike a web-only business), your one-stop solution is to print your dotcom on your business cards, receipts, flyers, and any and all other forms of publication within your company - Your customers will likely be your main source of traffic.

I would suggest, unlike many business sites I've seen, to include helpful how-to do-it-yourself information on your site. As an example, when I do a search for how to do an oil change on my car, all I can find is a slew of mechanic/garage sites telling me how bad it is not to do it, and how I should do something about it... You know, if even ONE had the courtesy to detail out the actual steps, it would be likely I'd take my car to them someday. As things stand, when a business site doesn't want to help me, they can kiss my arse.
It would be cool if customers can DO something on your site, such as pay their balance online, or order estimates/services.

I might also suggest trading links with business sites that are somewhat related to yours. Perhaps you have friends or partners operating alongside, or maybe you can side along with someone doing similar work (ex.: you do lawncare, they do painting - Both are home-improvement, hence related AND not necessarily competition). It might help if both businesses are in the same area, but even a business on the other coast might not hurt to trade links with.