Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-24-2005, 10:04 PM
LawnSite Member

newbie at landscaping with landscape issues at home w/pics

hi,i am new here and i have really enjoyed this forum the past couple of days i hope it is ok for a plumber that appreciates your trade and wants to learn to post here..and i hope maybe i can contribute one day..anyways i am no expert so go easy on me..i just bought a home last year and the yard is really ghetto ..if you read the free chem lawn post you will see a part of my problem..anyways any book suggestions or pro advice will be awesome..apart from the lawn and all the other work i have i will just post a small project of mine w/pics..money is an issue for me right now so ,every thing i have i find growing wild and i collect stuff off of all these commercial projects i work on(but nothing stolen :blush: ) i have spotted some huge ferns where my buddy hunts..anyways look at the crazy pics i have for this project and let me have it ..thanks ..randy oh here is the link w/pics http://groups.msn.com/randyraudenbus.../yardwork.msnw
Old 05-24-2005, 10:48 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by rokinrandy
Ok there are only a few things I can cover because my specialty is lawncare and mulch, and what follows is based on your pictures so here goes:

You need a broad-cast spreader! If you do not have one, you will need to buy one or maybe you can borrow one from a neighbor.

- To make the grass look good, run to Home Depot and buy:
4 to 6 bags of pelletized Lime (they're about 3 bucks each, 40lb. bags).
- The lime is in white-green bags and make sure you don't get the powdered cheap stuff because the powder SUX with the spreader.
2 bags of Super 16-4-8 Fertilizer (33 lb. bags, about $5.49 each)
- This comes in red + white bags, and is usually around the 10-10-10.
One bottle of Ortho 'Lawn Weed Killer' with the garden-hose applicator.