Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:56 AM
jd boy jd boy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: nw ohio
Posts: 179
Blowing Gcfi

so we installed this pond last year, and it ran great for a year. Now, all of the sudden she calls and says the pump won't stay running. It is an aquascape 4500 in one of their skimmers.

i tried all the obvious stuff (check for obstructions, spun the impellor)

Does anyone have any reason why this pump would be tripping the reset in the outlet?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:19 AM
TLS's Avatar
TLS TLS is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: N&W Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 7,938
Somewhere in your wiring from your GFCI to your pump (or the pump itself) you have an open ground. That or the outlet is faulty. They're not circuit breakers, they're ground fault interrupters.
__________________
TLS
2004 GMC 2500HD Reg Cab BOSS 9.2 V-Plow
2013 eXmark LazerZ X-Series 60" 34hp EFI (RED) Kohler
2006 Hustler SuperZ 28EFI 60" Power Chute Design OCDC SOLD!
Perma-green Magnum
1996 48" SCAG Belt WB 14hp Kawasaki Classic Deck
Echo 2 strokes PB-755 & SRM 280
Eastman WM20H 20" Commercial Push mower (NEW for 2013)
Commercial Lawnboy trim mower 3-FOR SALE!http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=424203
Solo since 1980
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2005, 10:21 AM
jd boy jd boy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: nw ohio
Posts: 179
if that were the case (an open ground) i would think it would have done this from the first minute we plugged it in. Why would it just start all of the sudden?

This particular outlet is run on it's own circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:39 AM
Dirty Water's Avatar
Dirty Water Dirty Water is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd boy
if that were the case (an open ground) i would think it would have done this from the first minute we plugged it in. Why would it just start all of the sudden?

This particular outlet is run on it's own circuit.
Condesation may have caused the pump to begin to ground out on its casing. I'd pull the pump and redo all the wiring connections.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:26 AM
jd boy jd boy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: nw ohio
Posts: 179
wiring connections? This is an aquascape pump that is pre-wired and plugged directly into a dedicated gfci outlet.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:08 PM
freddyc freddyc is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Western Ma
Posts: 579
GFI's are still rated at a certain amperage....do you know what the actual load is??? A loose connection anywhere will cause the increase in current...or oxidized connectors will act like a resistor and reduce voltage, causing higher amperage.

Check continuity between all the wiring and pump /motor casing. If this is run on its own circuit, check the breaker in the box.... check voltage at the pump itself, and finally, eliminate the GFI and go directly to the pump to find out if the GFI is faulty. Its likely theres a grounding problem but you gotta do these steps to narrow it down first.

Is there anything but the pump in the circuit?? Make sure the homeowner didn't play around with it and re-connect it wrong too...people usually fool around before calling!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2005, 05:48 PM
n2h20's Avatar
n2h20 n2h20 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pasadena, Ca
Posts: 499
hi there.. you said it was about a year later and now trips the GFI? Does it trip the gfi as soon as you reset it or run for a while then trip it? f it takes a while i would say the pump is dying or deffective. as least that has been the case in my experience
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2005, 05:48 PM
robhumit robhumit is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CT
Posts: 5
It's a bad pump. I had the same proplem. there was a problem with the 4500s last year. your dealer should know about it.

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-12-2005, 07:56 AM
BobR's Avatar
BobR BobR is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Galway, NY
Posts: 714
DITTO - Bad Pump

My AquaScape 7500 ran without problem for +- 3 months then the GFI started popping, plugged the pump into another GFI circuit and it also popped off.. Pump would run when plugged into a normal (non GFI) circuit till the unit heated up and the internal over temp switch again shut down the pump.

Dealer warrantied with a new unit - no more problems.

BobR
__________________
Robert's Lawn Service

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-13-2005, 01:53 AM
BGTIME BGTIME is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: zone 5
Posts: 22
did you try plugging it into another outlet? That should tell ya which is broke.

the 4500 and 7500 had some problems. I went through 5 7500's before they sent me 2 working units.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.

Page generated in 0.09839 seconds with 7 queries