Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-18-2005, 11:46 PM
LawnSite Member

New To LawnMowing Business

Hey guys. I am new to the LawnMowing business and i am wanting some tips and suggestions. I live in texas in a very rural area. There are people all around me needing their 1-10 acre lots mowed. The equipment i have is..

Dayton 5Spd, 11hp rider
Snapper 12hp 6 speed rider (not running yet)
2 Push Mowers (3.5 and 5hp)
1 non working weedwhacker (will run after i get fuel line)

The Dayton rider is old but very reliable. I am only 17 but have a drivers license and a truck. What suggestions do you have for me? I just mowed a womans 4 acre lot today for $350. What prices should i charge? I have 5 years of experience in lawn mowing. Thanks for your suggestions in advance guys!
Old 06-19-2005, 01:11 AM
LawnSite Member

get as many lawns as you can then as soon as you can justify it, buy a commercial mower. never quit advertising.
Old 06-19-2005, 01:57 AM
LawnSite Member

new

this is the flyer i have made up to post in stores and such around the area..its a .doc file so its not pretty but if you want to see the ACTUAL file here it is:
My Lawn Flyer
Attached Files
File Type: txt lawnflyerr.txt (915 Bytes, 147 views)
Old 06-19-2005, 08:19 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

if your gettin 350 fer 4 acres, your doin just fine. Don't change nothin.
Old 06-19-2005, 11:53 AM
LawnSite Member

Flyer looks good but you may wanna change "I have 5 years of experience and are very reliable and responsible." And these guys are gonna try to nickel and dime you so I'd take out the ***Prices negotiable to an extent*** part, don't open that door for them. But looks good, and I agree, if you're gettin' that kinda money, you're doin' good so far. good luck
Old 06-19-2005, 12:56 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

take a step back b4 u do anything

the prices on the flyer are outrageously low....