Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-02-2001, 09:01 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Some questions for all you sesoned pros.
i'm new to pesticide application. I will be taking my masters exam the first week of April, so there is little time to get everything in order. By the way I live in Maine.
I would like to know your thoughts on the setup I'm considering.
1 Lesco spreader (80lb capacity) for fertilizer.
1 200 gallon Lesco skid type sprayer Unit.
2 Back pack sprayers. For small stuff.
My problem is this, I want to be able to spread fertilizer,control grubs,crabgrass,broadleaf weeds, and do deep root tree injections. Is it possible with this set up or should I get a seperate piggy back setup from someone else just for the tree fertilizing. I know that herbicides and fertilizer don't mix, but I also know that I will get my best weed control with the sprayer unit. Help!! Am I missing something?
Thanx for the help,
Old 03-03-2001, 04:29 PM
LawnSite Member

GrazerZ, Its funny of the mix of equipment that you are considering starting out with, 'cause that is almost the exact same set up that I started with 4 years ago. The only exception, is that I have a separate 100 gal tank and spray system for the ornamental applications. There has never been any herbicides in my ornamental tank, and as long as I own it, there never will be.
Being in a warmer climite than you, our requirements are different, but what I do is apply my pre-emergence with my spray system (both in the Spring and the Fall) Then during the Summer season, I switch over to a granular program. By spraying in Fall and Spring, I can include different things to the tank, on an as needed basis, so that adds flexability to my program that I can change on a daily basis.
NG
Old 03-03-2001, 08:17 PM
LawnSite Member