Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 08-01-2005, 02:59 PM
LawnSite Member

should i quit my job?

I'm looking for advise or opinions on starting my own lawn care business. I've been a heavy equipment operator for the past 12 years making $27 and hour with benifits and good pension. I collect unemployment in the winters and plow snow to make extra cash. The past two years have been pretty rough in the construction industry and i've never really liked my job anyways. I'm tired of busting my butt to make another man richer. I've always enjoyed mowing lawns. My yard looks awesome and i've even mowed my neighbors yards just to help out so i thought maybe i'm cut out for it. My wife's job covers the family's health costs including mine so that's not an issue. What i'm wanting to know is would i be crazy to give up $27 an hour for lawn care? How does lawn care compare to that? I have enough money for the initial investment (mower, trailer, etc.) and enough money to get by 'til i'm established. I also have a good reputation in the area from plowing snow. There are four new sub-divisions going up in my area so i believe the work is there. Any advice would really help in my decision.
Old 08-01-2005, 03:17 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

i just started this year and dont quit your job its been to dry to make money around here ( Northeastern Indiana) I will probably have to get a job this winter to pay for my equipment as the business sure isnt going to do it

i would start part time and see how thigns went, if it goes good then think of quiting but giving up 27 bucks per hour and all the benfits would be damn hard for me to do

1970 John Deere 110 38A Mower
1988 John Deere 180 With 48" Mower and 42" Front Blade
2002 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
Old 08-01-2005, 04:32 PM
LawnSite Gold Member