Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 08-06-2005, 04:36 PM
LawnSite Member

What to do??

I am currently working for a large grounds maintenance company trying to learn the ropes to eventually start my own business. I've been working very hard for this company for about two months now, and they still will not let me mow. I string trim all day. I understand that you have to start somewhere, however, they only pay me nine dollars an hour to string trim and blow 9-13 hours a day, 5 days a week. Whats even worse is the the others on the crew are total jerks. They all are on major power trips and and sit around and do nothing while I whip and blow entire sites on my own. Is it worth sticking it out and keep working hard for these guys with the possibility that they will never teach me what I need to know????? Also what is the best way to quote a job??? I think the company I work for goes by the man hours it takes to finish or something.
Old 08-06-2005, 04:51 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mow Master
I am currently working for a large grounds maintenance company trying to learn the ropes to eventually start my own business. I've been working very hard for this company for about two months now, and they still will not let me mow. I string trim all day. I understand that you have to start somewhere, however, they only pay me nine dollars an hour to string trim and blow 9-13 hours a day, 5 days a week. Whats even worse is the the others on the crew are total jerks. They all are on major power trips and and sit around and do nothing while I whip and blow entire sites on my own. Is it worth sticking it out and keep working hard for these guys with the possibility that they will never teach me what I need to know????? Also what is the best way to quote a job??? I think the company I work for goes by the man hours it takes to finish or something.