Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-13-2001, 09:20 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Hi guys,
I'm just getting started and without going into all the details would like to hear some advice from pros. I've already got the lawyer, CPA, Banker, and equipment dealer on the move. All I need now is enough customers for me to quit my current job and go full time.. All comments welcome.

Thanks, Chris.....

Chris
CP Mayhew, Inc.
Old 03-13-2001, 09:49 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

line up the accounts before you quit and possibly do it part time for a year or two to get yourself established well that way when you do do it full time you will have a better chance at success
Old 03-13-2001, 10:10 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Chris,

Sounds like you've got a good start. I'll amend what OM had to say. I don't know what your situation is, if you have a spouse that's got a solid income, etc....

If you have a great safety net, jump in with both feet. If you don't, go slow/part-time.

There are a million ways to try to attract customers, depending on what kind of area you live in, what kind of business you want to attract, on and on. Just make sure that the customers you handle now all LOVE what you do. Build a solid base of customers who will serve as references for you.
Old 03-13-2001, 11:17 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

If you have a great safety net, jump in with both feet. If you don't, go slow/part-time.

as both guys said, go part time for now and next year think about full time if you can grow that fast. get estibished, make a name for yourself, and make sure the land you are on today is solid for tommorrow. every year i see guys come and go, for many reasons, you don't want to be one of those guys.
Old 03-14-2001, 03:45 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

joshua,
It's a great industry that has made millionaires of many that have paid attention to the "business" side of the workload.