Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-05-2005, 06:45 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Toro 2 cycle 21" piston repair

I have two Suzuki two cycle engines, one has bad rings and piston, and the other one has a bent crankshaft. I was going to just get each's respective part(s) and have 2 21"s. Since I have never worked on a 2 cycle before, how do you get the piston with the rings into the casing. Do you have to put the tool around just the piston, and then push it in. And then connect the crankshaft back again, or is there another way. The tool I am talking about is a hollow cylinder that has bolts that make it tighten.
Old 09-05-2005, 07:22 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlandscaping
I have two Suzuki two cycle engines, one has bad rings and piston, and the other one has a bent crankshaft. I was going to just get each's respective part(s) and have 2 21"s. Since I have never worked on a 2 cycle before, how do you get the piston with the rings into the casing. Do you have to put the tool around just the piston, and then push it in. And then connect the crankshaft back again, or is there another way. The tool I am talking about is a hollow cylinder that has bolts that make it tighten.
A ring compressor is the easiest and quickest way to install a piston, Although the one you explained sounds like something from the 20's.
The idea is to install it on the piston over the rings with just enough piston skirt sticking out to start into the cylinder, Then while holding the compressor flush with the top of the cylinder at all times push or tap the piston in using a wood hammer handle tapping lightly until the piston is in the cylinder then reconnect the rod to the crank.
I would recommend de-glazing the cylinder and installing new rings, The wear will most likely be different between the two cylinders and the used rings may not seat properly.