Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-27-2005, 08:50 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

How to cut Bermuda?

I'm new to the lawn buisness and I have a question for you all. When I cut bermuda grass I leave behind some yellow spots. Is it because I'm cutting it to short (2.5")? Ifso what height do you all cut bermuda?
Old 09-27-2005, 09:15 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Bermuda is green only at the top of the grass. This is especially true on certain types and on those that use fertilizer (causing it to be very dense). When your mower takes off that extra 1/4" when it hits that small uneven spot, then you get to see the brown spots. It will probably green up within a day or two in most cases. The height that you are mowing has nothing to do with it. You can cut bermuda at 1" if you want to - but not after you let it go to 2.5".

Soli Deo Gloria
Old 09-27-2005, 09:31 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

How to cut Bermuda

It depends on what type of Bermuda you have. Common Bermuda can be cut from 1" to 2.5" I think the yellow spots are either humps and bumps and you have a scalping issue or the growth is too much between cuts and you are removing more than 1/3 of the leaf. I am in Phoenix and we cut hybrid Bermuda's from 3/8" to 3/4" and common at 1" Others cut it higher but but we like it tight. This time of year pearl scale rears its ugly head here, I don't know about your neck of the woods. You may want to get on your knees and do a bit of investigating. Look for small pin head sized pearls off white to a light pink or yellow color just below the thatch layer. I try to do this when the customer is looking out the window. Even if I can't figure out the problem they appreciate the effort.
Old 09-27-2005, 11:53 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

It is avoidable with proper management.
I've posted the technique before.
When I feel better and have time I'll attach it here.

For now though, raise the cutting height to 2 3/4"-3" next cut.