Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-05-2005, 07:53 PM
LawnSite Member

Fall cleanup complaint

Hey guys i did a cleanup today and charged $230 total but that included one lawn cut which i bagged about 2 weeks before.So i charged 200 for the clean up and it took me and my buddy 2 hours with 2 redmaxxs and a tarp.We had to make two trips to drop off these leaves at my house with a 8ft bed loaded to the max using a tarp. Now the customers is calling complaining about the bill being high as she was a lawn service customer and just needed it done.Any ideas as to what i should tell her as i would like to have her as a customer next year,but i want to justify my pricing.Any help would be appreciated as this is my first year doing clean ups.thanks a bunch guys.
Old 11-05-2005, 08:09 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Just explain to her that there are several avenues of service. The mowing - $30.00 There are fall and spring clean-ups. At your price (which sounds decent) 2 guys and 2 redmax @ 2 hrs. (that is like 4 guys) Plus dump fee. You have to pay for gas in the machines and truck, pay the employee, pay the estimator, pay the secratary, pay the insurance, pay the comp. Tell her it shoulda been $265.00 but you gave her a special deal because she is a regular. Now, we have aeration charges, dethaching charges, fert charges, etc. etc. etc. Explain to her, sorry if there was a miscommunication, but $30.00 does not include all of this.
Old 11-05-2005, 10:13 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

job estimate

dont you give a written estimate, with cost and have them sign the estimate agreeing to pay x amount for y service....?????

sounds like they where shocked at the amount, which isn't high to me either, sounds about right.....
6 full time
Old 11-05-2005, 10:19 PM
LawnSite Member