Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-14-2006, 01:05 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Gross profits per man

I am a small landscaper working solo about 45 hours per week average, with back up help (1 man) for about 30 hours. I grossed about 69,000 last year, and that was with a full school load two semesters with 30 combined semester hours.
Is this reasonable for a small company? If the numbers seem low, it may be because of a severe drought we had last summer. I lost about 7 lawn cuttings.

I am looking for some comparisons to see where I stand. Thanks guys.
Old 01-14-2006, 02:23 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

What did you net?

I feel that seems reasonable
Old 01-14-2006, 02:24 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cowboy
I am a small landscaper working solo about 45 hours per week average, with back up help (1 man) for about 30 hours. I grossed about 69,000 last year, and that was with a full school load two semesters with 30 combined semester hours.
Is this reasonable for a small company? If the numbers seem low, it may be because of a severe drought we had last summer. I lost about 7 lawn cuttings.

I am looking for some comparisons to see where I stand. Thanks guys.
Hey Cowboy- those numbers suck. Maybe you should step it up this year. J/K

You grossed more while going to school than a lot do with this being the only responsibility they have.
Good job.

Kc
Old 01-14-2006, 06:17 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Ok I suppose with a helper for 2/3'rds of the time and you got over 3-4 years experience AND you're further north (meaning the prices are a bit higher), 69k sounds about right...

I'm finishing my 4th year in lawncare. Far as the average work week if you figure 52 weeks/year, I might've worked 36 of those, at 60 / week... Guess that averages out to 41-42 hours/week.

I'm about 1000 miles south of you, so prices likely drop 10% or thereabouts...
I grossed 31k last year by myself, no help.