Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-28-2006, 12:29 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Mulching oak leaves

I suspect a problem developing from mulching too many oak leaves. It looks like the grass is thinning in the area where I have been mulching them for the past 3 years in the fall.

I don't notice this where I mulch gum leaves, pine straw, maple leaves or hackberry.

I know that grass has a hard time living under and around oak trees anyway, but this looks like it is getting worse as time goes by.

Hoping that some of you soil analytical types could suggest the right mixture of fertilizer for this condition. I probably need to get some fert going before spring gets here, right?

I would sure hate to have to quit mulching, but am open for some help.
Old 01-28-2006, 12:38 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

take a soil test probably very acidic from mulching leaves

join us on FACEBOOK www.facebook.com/ClarkLawnMaint
Old 01-28-2006, 12:42 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

I would not recommend mulching Oak leaves onto a lawn at all.If I did it would be Oak leaves very well aged and composted.Mulch and compost are two very different things so if you think you are making Oak leaves into compost for useing on a lawn when you mulch..you have it all wrong.
Oak leaves are full of Tanin acid and will damage grass.
also if it is thick,like it sounds like it is..it will kill the grass.
Rake it off the lawn,and mulch your leaves into a compost pile where they can properly break down with other organic matter you add and then use it on your lawn after a year or more.Do a search on composting yard waste.
Old 01-28-2006, 01:00 AM
LawnSite Silver Member