Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-02-2006, 09:36 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

I contend that residential & commercial are...

two totally separate industries. Not quite as separate as construction & maintenance, but still two totally separate industries.

Take me, for example. I have three years experience in the business, all of it is residential. Not a single commercial client the whole time. I am very good at pricing residential maintenance. But put me out on a shopping center with a lot of shrubs and a lot of large lawn areas, I am totally lost as far as quoting a price is concerned.

With commercial maintenance, generally speaking, the company who mows the lawn does everything else too. Tree pruning, color changes, irrigation programming & repair, crepe myrtle pruning, mulch for the beds, chemical apps...everything. Often times, in the North Texas area, this includes overseeding the lawn with rye in the winter and mowing it in the winter. There is work to do every month of the year. Also, these agreements are more often than not written agreements with longer term commitments from the customers.

With residential lawn mowing, the company who mows the lawn often times does nothing else. There is usually a separate company that does the chemical apps. And the home owner often times does everything else, such as trimming the shrubs and color changes. Residential clients almost never over seed the lawn with rye, so there is no mowing to be done in the winter. By and large, residential clients have zero work for the lawn mowing company for 4 to 5 months per year. Also, with residential mowing, there is usually not a signed contract, nor is there usually a long term commitment from the customer.

I just see these two industries as not having much in common. I would definitely classify these two industries as separate industries.

Would you?

Later,
DFW Area Landscaper
Old 02-02-2006, 10:05 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member