Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-15-2006, 11:37 AM
LawnSite Member

House Demolition

Hi new Im new to the the site, and have found it to be so useful, I'm curently doing acrage mowing for Developers in Houston Texas, I Have a McCormick 102HP CX 105, 4x4 Cab Tractor, and Iam looking into doing House Demolition for the Home Builder My Father Works For, Most of the Houses are around 1000 to 1500 sq feet and are peir and beam, I was told that the curent rate they are charged is 2500 to 3000 per house. I was woundering if i decided to get into this what type of Equipment could I get by with.

I was thinking:

I, Getting a front end loader for My Tractor with a few different types of buckets witch i was going to buy one even if i dont get into house demo

II Buying something like a Bush Hog Back Hoe attachment

III Renting some equipment

Doing this Work For His Company is a minimum of 15 to 20 houses a year
and maybe a chance of doing demo for 4 other home builders in the area, that the company owns
Increasing to 40 to 50 Houses a year.

Any Sugestions are welcome

Any Sugestions
Old 02-15-2006, 01:21 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I wouldn't buy anything smaller than a 12K mini excavator, at the absolute minimum. An excavator in the 17-18K range is going to be a little more acceptable, but I think you could get by with something smaller. Trying to outfit your tractor with a loader and/or backhoe will be a mistake for the job you are trying to do. The backhoe will not allow you to swing 360 degrees like an excavator will, so if you need to put material directly "behind" you, it's impossible. You'll also need a hydraulic thumb for the excavator to assist in grabbing and placing material.

As far as renting goes, your job schedule could be very spread out and it would cost you just as much to rent as it would to buy so renting in this case might not be the best option.

Go hard, go fast, or go home
Old 02-15-2006, 03:20 PM