Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 02-26-2006, 10:57 PM
LawnSite Member

The Business That Lawn Site Built

I have been reading posts here on Lawnsite for over a year now and love to hear all of the opinions and experiences we all have for this industry. As I have been reading I came up with an idea that I hope to be able to kick around with everyone for a while. I'd like to call it "Project Lawnsite" I have been mowing and aerating lawns for 6 years now and just turned 18, I will graduate in June and have decided I am ready to take my business to the next level. The point of this thread is for you guys to help me have the most sucessful year, I plan on sharing everything with you we will vote on logo's, advertisements, what type of lawns I should pursue, basically everything to do with a business you will have input on. I will trust in the opinions of everyone and come to a general consensus of what we feel is best for my situation. In essence this is your oppurtunity to build your prototypical business model. Now for my background...
I have been doing various forms of lawncare for the past 6 years, mainly aeration and weekly lawn mowing. I have worked for a full time lawn care company in my area off and on as is needed and am good friends with many of the companies in my area. I started out just mowing neighborhood lawns like many and slowly progressed to where I maintained 33 accounts last year. I own...
97 Toyota Tacoma
5x10 Trailer
2 Honda 21" HRC216's
1 new Stihl Trimmer
1 new Stihl Blower
1 new Stihl Edger
1 Crap Homeowner John Deere Trimmer/Edger
1 BlueBird Aerator
1 Turfco Aerator