Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-12-2006, 09:04 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

My most recent project...

OK, this is my first time trying to insert photos so lets see how this goes.

The site I am working on now from what I am hearing was used to dump alot of rock form an apartment complex that developed years ago. SO my biggest challenge has been moving these things. THe last time I had to deal with these friggen monsters, I had a JD 160 excavator and a JD 655 Series 2 track loader on site. Unfortunately, it looks like the excavator is coming back for a week. I need to slope the front yard at an angle (about 30%) and put the large stones in strategic places for landscaping. I also plan on taking the larger excavator and digging a pretty big hole to bury the smaller crap stone.

Here is what I am up against...the last shot is what I need these two front yards to look like.
Attached Images

Last edited by thepawnshop; 03-12-2006 at 09:12 PM.
Old 03-12-2006, 09:19 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

The first pic was messed up...so here it is again:
Attached Images

Old 03-12-2006, 09:26 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Better call in for a 200...Those things are the size of Volkswagens. You could probably roll them around with a 160 but you might not be able to lift them, espcially on that slope.

Go hard, go fast, or go home
Old 03-12-2006, 10:10 PM
LawnSite Member

Those rocks are not big heck we were moving rocks bigger than that with a 161. The largest boulder we dug out it it was massive a 690 John Deere could just roll it. It would take two machines to lift it so all we did was dig a ledge out on a bank and stuck the rock on the ledge. It was the largest and smoothest boulder we have ever encoutered it was the size of a 1/2 ton regular cab P/U truck.